We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for basic accommodation”
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Unfortunately we were in the wee room stuck out the back. It was the cheapest room they had but was still incredibly steeply priced for what it was.

Other than the unimpressive room, the facilities were great. Salt water pool (not heated!!! eeek) and spa were wonderful, pity it is right on the main road in and out of Paihia though, not the most relaxing scenery when wasting away time in the spa.

Great location though as far as the beach is directly over the road and only a short walk into the heart of Paihia.

Amazing restaurant next door, recommend for breakfast, lunch or dinner! A MUST visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-Anna-Allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your recent stay with us. As noted in other responses regarding our Budget Room, this is a room that we are happy to be able to offer the budget conscious traveller but at the same time, also provide all the extra facilities you would expect to find at a 4 and a half star accommodation property. All of our advertising does state that it is situated at the rear of the motel and does not have sea views however we feel it is ideal for the traveller on a budget. Paihia is a very seasonal tourist destination which means over the peak time December through February prices are driven by demand over this popular holiday time. We are pleased you were able to enjoy our facilities during your stay including the refreshing coolness of the pool on a hot summers day and our spa. We love the fact that you are able to look out over the stunning sea views whilst enjoying the spa rather than being stuck away inside like you would experience at some other properties. To be able to stay at beachfront accommdoation in Paihia there is the compromise of having the road between you and the beach, however we feel this is far outweighed by the convenient location and of course the views! We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Paihia and hopefully the next time we will have a lovely sea view unit to offer you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

We rented the cheaper room at the back of the motel which was still very nice. This area is very expensive. I have stayed in nicer room for less in other places in NZ but its a pricy area. They have a pool and hot tub with BBQ area so we sat out there most of the time since our room was at the back facing the shed. I would stay here again but if possible stay in one of the other rooms. In the end paying to sit on a patio to have drinks or paying for a room with a view where you can buy your own drinks is probably the same price.

Room Tip: Second level would be the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWaldos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us recently and we thank you for your honest feedback. As noted in other responses, the time of your stay was during the peak holiday season, hence the higher prices driven by demand for this popular holiday destination and time of year. It is great that you were able to make the most of our facilities including the pool and spa during your stay. We would love to have you stay with us again the next time you are visiting the lovely Bay of Islands. Hopefully we will be able to offer you one of our superb sea view rooms where you can relax and unwind outside on the patio with a drink and take in the stunning views rather than having to venture away from your room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I would definitely stay there again. The beds were the most comfortable that I've ever slept in and the service was excellent. The manager was onsite and went out of her way to provide us with top quality service. The room was cleaned daily. The only downside was that the internet service was difficult to access. I couldn't get a connection in my room, but could at the poolside. Even there, it was a poor connection.

Room Tip: Corner rooms were exposed to a lot of traffic noise. During the summer the only way to cool the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, owner/manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

The management and staff really appreciate this lovely review. We strive to give the best service that we can and our staff are well aware of their obligations to achive it.
We have invested a lot into improving the comfort of our beds and it is good to hear such nice comments being made about them.
We are sorry that the internet was not as easily accessible as it should have been. It was not until we rebooted our WiFi router the next day that the problem disappeared, something that we will be more onto the next time it might happen.
A tip to cool your room on one of those balmy nights, is to shut all the doors and windows, set your aircon to the "cool" setting and lower the temp. That way you will eliminate any outside noise while cooling the room. The corner rooms as you have called them have double glazed windows.
We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This was our first visit to New Zealand and Pahia in particular. The room was clean and the staff friendly. The location was great with the beach just across the street and restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We used the coin washer dryer to catch up on our laundry and took advantage of their beautiful pool and WiFi too. It was our first visit to the Bay of Islands and we are glad we stayed an extra night over our original plan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a great review of your regular stays with us. It is our pleasure to have you and we are happy that your visits are always positive ones. Our team here are always willing to help out in any way so your comments about the friendly atmosphere are very much appreicated. We feel this often makes the difference between a guests experience exceeding expectations as opposed to just being on par with other accommodation properties. We also thank you for your recommendations to your collegues and friends and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I visit Northalnd on a regular basis and always stay at the Anchorage. The rooms are clean and well service with fresh high quality linen. I am well treated and enjoy the freindly atmosphere and very obliging staff. The owners always friendly and welcoming. i would recommend this place to any one going to Paihia and in fact I do to not only work collegues but friends as well. Thank you both for making my stay with you enjoyable I will see you again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

We are always more than happy to welcome you back to stay with us and are delighted that you have given us such a glowing review! The Anchorage staff are constantly working hard to provide the best service to our guests, which includes making sure the rooms are spotlessly clean for guests' arrival as well as servicing the rooms daily. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Comfortable room with modern interior and all handy things - kitchen where can cook if want to do so, spa to relax, TV with good channels, internet connection, and at the same time so close to everything in Paihia - walking distance to the shopping mall and to all restaurants. Just cross the road and you are on the beach, fabulous. Large outdoor swimming pool in the hotel front yard with causy BBQ areas around. The hosts are very nice people making you feel welcome. We enjoyed our stay at Anchorage.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We our glad that our room made you feel comfortable - as you say, all rooms are equipped with a kitchen area, new modern bathrooms, a 32-inch TV and free internet, and the outdoor spa and pool are available for all of our guests to enjoy. We strive to make you feel welcome and relaxed during your stay so we are delighted that you felt that way. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The Anchorage Motel is definitely NOT a 4+ star accommodation! Between the cockroaches running through the bedroom and bathroom and and the lack of sound barrier between rooms it was a huge disappointment for the price!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner/Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

This is just the sort of review that keeps you from getting too complacent especially after having such a run of wonderful comments and experiences in previous reviews.
To be fair to review readers we feel that there is some inaccuracies surrounding this review.
As this was a drive-by booking we find several of the ratings hard to comprehend and harsh at the least.
This group of 4 ladys, prior to driving in chose the Anchorage Motel as their location. After inspecting our room options and selecting one that best suited their needs, a price was agreed and charged. Now check those comments against their ratings for Location, Rooms and Value because we feel the group had every opportunity to carry on looking at other properties that better suited their needs.
When asking as to whether it would be quiet for the night. Aileen said in all honesty that as we had a wedding party staying, that she had doubts on that one.
On departure it was mentioned that a cockroach was cited but definitely not in the plural sense. Bush cockroaches love the warmer climates and usually stick to the outdoors, however being next door to a bush reserve, infrequently the odd one does manage to venture inside but not near the food areas as the reviewer confirmed. He has not been cited since and assume he found his way home.
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Anchorage Motel and do hope that you try us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £67 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing