We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Anchorage Motel. We can not fault anything from the friendly helpful service from the owner Aileen to the superb unit just across the road from the sea. The unit was like new with a stylish bathroom, complete with spa bath, spacious kitchen & dining facilities. Beautiful weather and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Pahia.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Michelle, We really appreciate the time you took to write a wonderful review on your recent stay here with us in Paihia. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the Anchorage Motel, situated opposite the beach and loved what we have to offer here, such as our renovated, clean and spacious rooms. We hope you made use of the spa! We hope you get to return to the Bay of Islands in the near future and we look forward to having you stay with us when you do. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Upper level room meant a great view of the bay. Modern decor and very large bed meant a comfortable stay. Being handy to the town and variety of restaurants made choosing meals easy. Staff were helpful and friendly and gave us some good tips on the area.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level unit if you want the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brighteyes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us during your recent visit to the Bay of Islands. The views on offer from our upper level are something special and we, as locals never tire of such views. We are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation we provide here at the Anchorage Motel and that you found the rooms comfortable, modern and clean. We hope you get the chance to return to Paihia so we get another chance to impart more great tips on places and things to do while in the Bay!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

my room was located infron of the ocean, and had a nice room with nice Jacuzzi.

I was traveling from Auckland to Paihia by myself by car, and was tired. But, I could take a great rest in this room.

The room has a well prepared kitchen with lots of cooking items. So, we don't need to worry about bringing lots of items from home.

Owner was cheerful and nice.

Also, there are couple of eating places near the motel, too.

I want to visit this motel when I have a chance to visit Paihia again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOMAtheCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Yuko, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Anchorage Motel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Motel comfortable and well equipped. In addition to our well equipped kitchen’s Paihia does have a number of great ‘dining out’ options which as you pointed out are just an easy walk from the Motel. We hope that you do manage to get back to Paihia some day soon so you can experience more of what Paihia and the Bay of Islands has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

It was everything it should be and a good location to boot. Take an upstairs room for the best view. The thunder and lightning show was terrific (and free!) Just like the other complimentry goodies offered on arrival.

Room Tip: Go upstairs
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinJeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Kevin & Jeanette, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Anchorage Motel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the wonderful location and views we have on offer here. So you also got to enjoy mother natures’ lightning display, it is not often we see such storms in Paihia, however there are lots of people still talking about that one! We hope that you get a chance to come back again someday and enjoy more of what Paihia has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

stayed here for work a couple of times, yep lucky me. Ground floor units nice and modern, amazing location, free drink at next door restaurant. Only issue is the sound proofing isnt great but ear plugs provided and its not the end of the world. Friendly service. Would stay here again but probably upstairs if i had my choice.

Room Tip: upstairs to minimise noise
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ.metge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Russell, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed many of the great services we have on offer here at the Anchorage Motel such as location, clean modern rooms and friendly staff. Sorry to hear your neighbours where a little noisy however it’s great that you made use of the earplugs and did not let it bother you! We are looking forward to you visiting us again for New Years and you will be glad to know we have allocated you to one of our upstairs units. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here on our first night touring New Zealand and we were well suited. It is a lovely motel, very quiet, right by the sea and in walking distance of places to eat. The host was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UlverstonJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Janet, Thank you so much for your recent review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Anchorage Motel and the breath taking views we have across the bay to Russell and beyond. It is a great location we have that allows people walk to all the attractions, shopping and Dining that Paihia has to offer and we are pleased you made the most of that. We hope the rest of your tour around New Zealand has been enjoyable and that you get the chance to return to Paihia in the future. kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had one night at the Anchorage (wish we could have spent more time there).
Unfortunately the weather gave us a great lightening and thunder show most of the night which woke us up several times.
The unit was clean and tidy.
Great big beautiful bed and good quality linen + towels in the bathroom of which there were plenty for our one night.
Highlight was the spa bath which T thoroughly enjoyed and I feared he would not ever get out!!
Great place in a good location - we would definitely stay here again.
Friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Tony & Kathy, Thank you so much for taking the time to right a review about your stay at the Anchorage Motel. We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and linen provided even though the storm did it's best at waking you. Most of the Paihia residents are still talking about the amazing lightning display we got to witness that night, it's not often we experience such storms in Northland!! The Spa pool is a wonderful feature to our property in summer or winter and we are thrilled you made the most of it during your 1 night stay! We hope one day you get to return to Paihia and make your stay with us a longer one. kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £57 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing