We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time luckyish”
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“3rd time luckyish”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

3rd time staying but first as a couple. we stayed for 4nights either side of NYE. Great location, great price, great service as usual. crazy family with wild children running around wild meant little sleep-ins or lazy afternoon naps but this reflected more on these particular parents. if i purge them from my memory then Anchorage still one of the best places to stay in Paihia.

Room Tip: upstairs and avoid the families with wild kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ.metge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Russell, it was great to have you back for a 3rd time! We empathise regards the sleep ins as we experienced the same, however given that was a rare occurrence we expect any future visits you make to be a lot quieter and more about those lazy holidays and afternoon siestas.... Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    133
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
101
255
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Facilities were everything a family of six could need,whole place is spotless,hosts could not have done more for us,location is heavenly,kids loved the pool and jacuzzi.
I wouldn't consider anywhere else in Paihia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Andrew, it was wonderful to have you and your family stay with us here in Paihia. It was great to see a family make the most of all the facilities we have on offer here at the Anchorage especially the pool and spa pool. We hope the rest of your holiday is going well and that you get to come spend more time in Paihia in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We arrived at the Anchorage Motel to be greeted by the helpful and happy Aileen. We had booked 2 rooms and Aileen had upgraded us to a sea view spa room and our girls to a sea view next to us. The hotel has self contained rooms (with everything you could possibly need, including a sandwhich maker) and there is also a BBQ. We had breakfast every morning at the table and chairs outside our rooms overlooking the sea and Russell across the bay, with the rainforest to our right - what a view!
They have thought of everything at The Anchorage Hotel, right down to plunger coffee, lovely biscuits and even a puratap for filtered water. The free Wi-Fi was fast and greatly appreciated. The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was sparkling. We booked our tours through Aileen at the Motel which was very convenient and a bit cheaper! The Anchorage provides drink vouchers and discount at some local restaurants. The Compendium was comprehensive and very helpful.
The beds are VERY comfortable with a good sleep quality - the linen is also good quality. The windows all open and a light breeze through the room is a treat as there are no flies and bugs. The shower pressure was great and the toiletries, towels etc good quality. The Sky TV has great movies!
We travel a lot and this is one of the nicest places you will find. Set back from the road, you get all the pleasure and the view but none of the noise. Thanks Aileen, we had a lovely stay at your motel and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front of the hotel are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomWillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Tom, thank you so much for your outstanding and detailed review. We could not have described and written about ourselves any better than you have!!! All I can really say is, thank you so much for your appreciation of what we offer and what we do. We hope the rest of your travels went well and we that we see you back here in the future! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

A family of four we spent two nights at the motel. The unit was comfortable, very clean and tidy. A very spacious bathroom with spa bath (kids loved). It had kitchen facilities allowing you to prepare your own meals. The motel is located just across the road from the beach ( so with young kids you have to be careful crossing). All in all good value. Friendly helpful hosts.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kp p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the clean and comfy rooms and more important that the kids had lots of fun in the Spa bath! Now that summer is here it’s great that the beach is so close, there are buckets and spades everywhere so the kids must be loving that too!! We hope to see you again if you come back to enjoy more of what the Bay of Islands has to offer. kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay at the Anchorage. A fantastic location and within walking distance to restaurants, town centre and pier. Clean, spacious and well-appointed apartments, very relaxing pool area. Staff very friendly and most helpful. Would loved to have stayed longer!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 707christinej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi Christine, thank you for your review and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Paihia and your accommodation at the Anchorage. We are very lucky with our location, beautiful views and only a short walk to everything. The clothes you left behind are on their way back to you and hopefully find you before Christmas! As you did not get to stay as long as you wished for this time we look forward to having you return again sometime in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A really lovely place, high quality finish of the chic apartments and every mod con...it's right by the beach of Paihia which has a wide range of motels to choose from but it's not noisy at all and still feels quite private. The apartments we stayed in were overlooking the pool and the beach with beautiful views of this lovely town. Love the outdoor hot tub/ bbq area and our bathtub had a spa setting too! Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view/ poolside option it's such a great sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear RamblinKitty, we really appreciate the time you took to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated all we had on offer from the refurbished rooms, the quiet setting on the edge of town overlooking the bay and the hot tubs and spa. Now that summer has really kicked in the outdoor pool and bbq area has been getting much use. The smell's from the bbq are wafting in the door as I write, making my mouth water! We hope you get to return sometime and enjoy more of what the Bay of Islands has to offer. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Fantastic location, so close to the shops, cafes and pier. Great view from our room, and lovely clean and modern facilities. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Let them know what sort of day tours you might be interested in doing and they might be able to arrange a discount for you. They offered great advice on things to do and places to see during our stay. It was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Just let the staff know what type of beds your need, they are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Katrina, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay with us in Paihia. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and all the Motel and staff had to offer, from great advice to clean, comfortable accommodation, great views and of course the great location we have within walking distance to everything. Enjoy the rest of your travels and we do hope to have you back in Paihia sometime in the future. Kind regards & thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
622 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing