We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sleep great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best sleep great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very pleasant helpful owners and great room, well worth $$

The couple had a nice sleep in the king sized bed, the second room had comfy singles in it, well made and clean.

Great shampoo body wash etc

Lots of nice tea

Paihia is beautiful and this was the perfect place for us

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Kim, it’s great to hear you enjoyed the comfortable beds, facilities and condiments we have here at the anchorage, especially the tea. There is nothing better than a good cup of tea!! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    133
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
99
254
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Spent first few nights of honeymoon here. Was well priced and room was amazing. The best in particular was super comfortable. The view was also amazing. Very central and the service was fantastic. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosè F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Rose, We are glad you chose to stay with us for part of your honeymoon and you enjoyed the comfort, views and location on offer. We hope the rest of your honeymoon went really well and married is all you dreamt it to be and more. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the anchorage just before new years. Fab location, awesome rooms and hosts were brilliant! Would go back in a heartbeat! Needed a few days away before we got married and this was a perfect getaway! One of the most beautiful places in NZ, makes me miss home that much more even thinking about it. Thanks again Anchorage! H&C

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Holly, Thanks for the review and we would love to have you back!! Yes, Paihia is such a beautiful spot and the perfect place to come and switch off and relax. We are so lucky with our location that we get to look out across the Bay at those wonderful views every day! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Situated in an ideal location, very close to the Russell and other ferries and many good restaurants. A very warm welcome, wonderful views, lovely clean and well maintained accommodation. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Top floor front for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkH5014KU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear John, it sounds like you got out on the water a little bit while you where here, that’s definitely the way to do it and as you said we are located close to the wharf, restaurants and shops so nice to be able to park up your car while you are here! We hope we get to welcome you in again, if you make another trip from the UK. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked at the last moment and got the only room available, the budget room. However the room was lovely with a queen sized bed and a single. It didn't have a view but it was never advertised having one and only cost $150 per night. Aileen was a great host and very helpful. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Bob, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and although the budget room has no view you still get all the other great facilities and comforts on offer J It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hopefully we see you again in the future where you can stay in an upstairs room with uninterrupted views! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manukau, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We took a road trip up to Paihia with the kids, and had been recommended the motel from a family member, we didn't book we just thought we would wing it, and luckily we were able to get a room with a fabulous view of the beach, the room was beautiful so crisp and fresh. Great swimming pool and spa . Eileen was very helpful with bookings and recommendations of sights and restaurants. Loved it will definitely go back and highly recommended to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Hi Sonya, We where really glad to be able to fit you and your family in, especially when you came by recommendation :) Thanks for your feedback it’s really nice to know when someone has enjoyed the facilities and their stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a very good holiday just because of the Anchorage motel everything was perfect,specially smoke free area tidy,clean,nice and clean pool we used bbq,friendly staff,good cervices specially sea view,we will definitely stay there again.many thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nader N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Hi, it’s great that you enjoyed your stay and all we have to offer here at the Anchorage from pools, bbq, clean rooms and great service but especially the wonderful view across the bay. We would love to have you stay again and hope that happens sometime in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing