We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY”
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“LOVELY”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Lovely, beautiful, very nice and helpful people.
large, beautiful pool. modern bathrooms and plenty of space for the Cook.
We had more time, then we're like countries remained.
We come back another time!
Thank you very much <3

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiss-Suzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Swiss-Suzana……We loved your review, especially the nice comments on our modern refurbed bathrooms and the extra space that this room provides. We are very much looking forward to your next visit when in the lovely Bay of Island’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    133
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
101
255
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Good view from this motel a shirt walk to tiwn ,beachs snd bars. A pleasent walk along the front to the ferry to russel. Hotel was near the corner by the road into town and a little nosiey if your a light sleeper ear plugs where provided.Accomadation was in need of some sound proofing as woke up by next door leaving at 6.30am and the sliding door to the toilet was noisey.On the whole good place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rosiejacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Rosie…we very much appreciate your review. Our location is very central to all of the amenities our little town has to offer. Sorry to hear about the noise problem, we have addressed it by installing double glazing, ceiling and wall sound proofing, however some guests can be inconsiderate towards neighbours and be disturbing no matter what lengths we have done to alleviate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Recently back from trip to Australia and New Zealand. One of the principal highlights was a 4 night stay at the Anchorage Motel in Paihia. The accommodation was first class - superbly appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchen area, and excellent bathroom/shower facilities. The car could be parked outside the apartment with glorious views of the garden, swimming pool, sun-bathing area then on to the Pacific Ocean. Aileen proved to be an most helpful and cheerful hostess, (husband Denis was out winning a fishing competition !). We would wholeheartedly recommend this motel to anybody visiting the Bay of Island area.

Room Tip: Go or the top of the range rooms to prevent having to carry cases up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Alan…we are proud to know staying at our motel was a highlight to your NZ trip. We appreciate your entire comments on our facilities and rooms as well as the help and knowledge we were able to pass on. We hope that prospective guests reading your review take up your recommendation to stay with us in the lovely Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We spent a wonderful 2 nights at the Anchorage Motel. Our 2 room apartment was lovely - clean and comfortable and had everything we could possibly want including filtered water, spacious bathroom, waterfront view and a deck to admire it from with a glass of wine! The beds were the most comfortable we slept in on our 4 week holiday. Thank you Aileen for your welcome and help, we will definitely be back to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerriePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Kerrie….that’s a very flattering comment that we very much appreciate. Not many of our guests make use of our filtered water that is available in all of our rooms. Your remarks about the spacious bath room and comfy beds speaks volumes for our recent refurbishment program and it was nice to hear you enjoying a glass of wine while taking in our lovely Bay of Islands views form the deck. We truly look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a lovely family holiday and we stayed at the anchorage. We really enjoyed this motel, so modern with a great view. Great to be able to have a swim and relax in the spa. We recommend this Motel to anyone visiting this beautiful town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Colleen… nice to receive this positive review. Great to hear your family enjoyed our lovely subtropical Spa and Swimming Pool facilities and the great Bay of Islands views from your recently refurbished room. We appreciate you recommending our motel to other visitors and look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just got to give a big thank you to Aileen for making us most welcome.
We realised we were going to arrive late in the evening and phoned the hotel to say we might be a bit later than expected. Aileen was wonderful - 'no problem' - she even offered to pop next door to the restaurant so that we would have something to eat when we arrived, fantastic.

We stayed in a studio apartment. The room itself was spotless and extremely well maintained. The recently refurbished bathroom with spa bath was fabulous!. Only minor point - the room with its position at the front of the hotel did not offer a great deal of privacy.

Room Tip: I would go for refurbished bathrooms the one we had was the best we had during our time in New Zeala...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Ger…thanks for the lovely review. We pride ourselves on customer service and nothing is too big of a problem when seeing our guests are comfortably settled into our accommodation. Also we appreciate your comments on the lovely bathroom you had the use of and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Anchorage in a spacious 2 bed apartment with stunning views out to sea. Location is excellent, just a short walk to town so easy to leave the car and explore by foot. The apartment was very clean and well equipped for self caterers. The pool area was an excellent spot to relax after a day out. The owners were friendly and professional. Recommend this motel for any visitors to Paihia.

Room Tip: Request a first floor apartment to take advantage of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Pebs…thanks for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the time at the end of the day to relax and chill out in our subtropical set pool area. Also good to see you enjoyed our lovely sea views of the Bay of Islands and our convenient location to the town’s amenities. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
622 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing