We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place to stay”
Review of Ash Grove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ash Grove Motel
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We have just arrived home after our last stop in New Zealand at the Ash Grove Motel, it was just what we needed after 4 weeks visiting family.
Wendy and Fred were great hosts and made us feel completly at home
The unit we had was well furnished and immaculately clean,it has a lovely garden and pool area which was great to relax in.
Paihia has some lovely resturants and is a good resort for all kinds of boat trips.
We would highly recommend a stay here.

.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edandlizjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

Another top tip from Trip Advisor, we stayed at the Ash Grove for five nights towards the end of February, and again were not disappointed. From our first meeting with Fred & Wendy we were hooked. We stayed in room no 4, which was big, light and airy, the patio doors opened out onto the delightful gardens and swimming pool, which was surrounded by the most amazing Hibiscus plants. Back to the room, cleanliness was to a very high standard and the bed was large and comfy. There was a fan to use when the nights got too warm. There is even a DVD library, but why would you want to stay in when you can watch he sun set over the distant hills. I liked the out of town location, this may not appeal to all but it was nice to feel detached from the Paihia and it's attractions.

I can only assume that the lady who wrote the previous negative review could never have been satisfied - we certainly having nothing but praise for this gem. We also found out that the Ash Grove is up for sale, the new owners have a tough act to follow. Don't forget now keep working on that swing!! and good luck with the sale.
Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeRouleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We spent 5 nights here at the end of a trip to North Island. We thought it was the best place we had stayed at over there. The unit was delightful, very clean, comfortable and well equipped. There was a nice private area to sit outside. The swimming pool was beautiful, quite large and set in lovely gardens. A great place to relax. Wendy and Fred were very attentive and helpful hosts, booking up a wonderful boat trip for us and generally offering great advice about places to visit, and eat etc. We will definitely return there another time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMJones6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Fred and Wendy are great hosts and make every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They will book trips for you and they even delivered us to our catamarran adventure and then collected us later to save us the inconvenience of parking all day. The room was very comfortable and well equipped and we thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and spa pool which are set in lovely gardens.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed at the Ash Grove on the last night of our holidays and wished we could have stayed longer. Lovely room, with a nice comfy bed and all the amenities you could want from a motel and more. The pool was really great and muc larger than a lot of motel pools, it was also set in lovely landscaped gardens. We enjoyed making friends with one of the cats that lives in the motel while we had a beer on the lovely porch of our chalet and watched the sun set. Definately worth making the trip out out of Paihia to stay here as it is only 10 mins drive away but you get more space and peace and quiet up here

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blacktype1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stayed at The Ash Grove for one week in Jan/Feb 11. What a fantastic little place. The owners, Wendy and Fred, are a lovely couple and very friendly and informative. Thought the warm muffins on arrival were great after a long drive from Auckland. We stayed in Unit 7 which was one of the two cottages. Can't fault it at all. The cottage was emaculately clean and was kept that way by the housekeeping throughout our stay. In reception there is an array of dvds and books to borrow which was very handy on the night of our arrival as Cyclone Wylma approached, we got a few dvds, drew the curtains and stayed in until the following morning.

The motel is a nice 3 minute drive from Paihia, which suited us greatly and on reflection of passing motels on the water front, I would much rather lay by the pool in private (as with The Ash Grove) rather than watch the traffic go by while trying to relax.

They do offer laundry services and internet connection, but neither of these did we use. All in all I think this is a lovely pretty motel to stay in, whether it be for a week or just an overnight stopover. Fab!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoyagerPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

After searching for a one night room to accommodate a large party of us (prior to a booking in Russell), we found the Ash Grove. Others in out party fared far worse! Nice rooms and grounds and a very accomodating host. Well worth the money and somewhere we would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWeLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
1.7 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
2.1 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
2.2 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Motel

Address: Ash Grove Circle | Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £47 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ash Grove Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Qualmark and Qualmark Green rated motel in Haruru Falls. Set in stunning gardens with a fabulous pool. Relax in our beautiful and peaceful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of New Zealand paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ash Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Boutique Hotel
Ash Grove Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing