We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ash Grove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ash Grove Motel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We couldn't ask for better, this place rocks. BBQ, pool, hot pool, nice room and nice staff.
We had an amazing day/ night in this place.
We decided to have a nice BBQ instead of spending a lot at the restaurants and it truly worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
85
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waiuku, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Even here in the winter, it was a lovely place to stay. We arrived to homemade muffins for afternoon tea. Complimentary Continental breakfast supplied, and a well fitted out kitchen for our own use. More than enough room for five adults. Swimming pool surrounded by gardens and a spa bath. Thank you to Carol and Stuart, we look forward to coming back and will recommend your motel to friends

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Quiet location just out of Paihia, we had an immaculate suite looking out to the pool and gardens. Very engaging and helpful owners made our stay enjoyable.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nottstourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The first Motel we stayed in ,in our six week tour of New Zealand. What a stunner. A separate cottage all to ourselves. There was a pool , spa bath and also the much needed laundry room .
The accommodation was very clean and met highly with our expectations.
A great place to stay if you want to tour The Bay of Islands. Many thanks to Carol and Stuart

Room Tip: Ask for the separate cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Together with my wife and one of our kids we spend 3 sunny days here. A beautiful small motel with spa, pool, cosy garden and free Internet. The hosts were very helpful.
Wish list: more TV channels that actually works.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterHoueSorensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our 4 wqeek trip to NZ and did not now what to expect from NZ self catering accommodation. Our introduction a the Ashgrove was certainly a good choice and provided all we would expect from a motel of this type and more. We had a seperate cottage (Honeymoon Hideaway) which had a pleasant shaded veranda and was surrounded by a nice garden area. A BBQ was available and a very nice swimming pool and spa area was abailable for guests. The motel is situated about 5 minutes drive out of Paihia not far from that Haruru Falls and is close to Waitangi and the facilities in the area. Our welcome and attention from the owners was first class and we would certainly return if in the area in the future and would recommend it if visiting the Bay of Islands area.

Room Tip: A seperate cottage (there are two, looked preferable to the terraced accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This delightful motel ticks all the boxes, pleasant and accommodating staff (owners!), clean and spacious rooms and amenities which exceed those of many NZ establishments.

Carol & Stuart are always available for local advice and knowledge and have compiled a helpful commpendium in the rooms. They were thoughtful, providing us with milk for tea or coffee prior we had the opportunity to visit the newar by grocery store.

The rooms featured new LCD TV's (elsewhere in NZ we were still finding CRT's) sitting areas, comfortable beds, kitchenette and dining table.

The onsite laundry, sparkling pool and efficient wifi connection are lovely additions.

My only negative to people considering this hotel is that it is not in town, and you need to drive if you want to visit the restaurants or shops. As someone who likes to stroll, and to enjoy wine with dinner, I found this a little tedious. However, this is also somewhat positive given the observed behaviour of some of the backpackers in town :).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell_81_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
1.8 mi away
Bay Cabinz Motel
Bay Cabinz Motel
#24 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#20 of 44 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aarangi Tui Motel
Aarangi Tui Motel
#36 of 44 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Motel

Property: Ash Grove Motel
Address: Ash Grove Circle | Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ash Grove Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Qualmark and Qualmark Green rated motel in Haruru Falls. Set in stunning gardens with a fabulous pool. Relax in our beautiful and peaceful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of New Zealand paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ash Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Boutique Hotel
Ash Grove Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing