We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic motel with great hosts”
Review of Ash Grove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ash Grove Motel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Fantastic time at Ashgrove. Rooms were well equipped and very clean. Kids loved the fact that they could watch Sky when they woke up. Awesome location and only 3 minutes from Paihia town. Motel is modern with a great saltwater pool which the lids loved! Nice and quiet in evenings for relaxing outside with a beer and wine! This is a fantastic place to stay and we will definately be back. We had a lovely time only regret is that we didn't book longer!! Thankyou for a great stay! Will recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nznick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Hosts Stuart and Carol are very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in Unit 8 (stand alone) for 8 nights, and found it to be well appointed (perhaps a hook in the bathroom could be added?) and in immaculate condition. Very comfortable and clean, close to Paihia (say 8 minutes away, but you need a car). Quiet and peaceful. Suggestions for dining in Paihi proved to be well judged. We entertained some guests for a B-B-Q one night, with the endorsement of our hosts. WiFi facilities (provided for in the tariff) were reliable. Laundry facilities were good. We highly recommend this accommodation to you!

Room Tip: Unit 8 is away from the swimming pool - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan_Marianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Really clean place with everything included that you could ever want. Busy road at the front of the unit, but it did not affect our stay.

Premises was located out of town, but only 5 mins in the car to Paihia.

The decor was a little dated, such as the touch lamps and the bedspread. The frying pan in our room looked like it lost its non-stick coating several years back and we did not use it because of this.

We paid $165 per night for 6 nights which I thought was pretty steep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darwin1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Fabulous welcome from Carol and Stuart on our arrival for our two nights stay. Muffins and a bottle of milk for our cuppa. Our room was superb, with everything included - Hob, microwave and fridge; TV and DVD; large double bed, comfortable chairs, and desk. Ouside in the garden was a table and chairs, barbeque and a swimming pool. Other facilities were free Wifi, laundry, car parking right outside the room, and a superb free Spa Pool, in which we indulged. In fact, we wanted for nothing! This was indeed the best motel/hotel that we stayed in throughout New Zealand. Fantastic value for money. Highly recommended and many thanks to Carol and Stuart.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hookydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We couldn't ask for better, this place rocks. BBQ, pool, hot pool, nice room and nice staff.
We had an amazing day/ night in this place.
We decided to have a nice BBQ instead of spending a lot at the restaurants and it truly worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marjan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Even here in the winter, it was a lovely place to stay. We arrived to homemade muffins for afternoon tea. Complimentary Continental breakfast supplied, and a well fitted out kitchen for our own use. More than enough room for five adults. Swimming pool surrounded by gardens and a spa bath. Thank you to Carol and Stuart, we look forward to coming back and will recommend your motel to friends

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Quiet location just out of Paihia, we had an immaculate suite looking out to the pool and gardens. Very engaging and helpful owners made our stay enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank nottstourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
1.7 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
2.1 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
2.2 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Motel

Address: Ash Grove Circle | Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £46 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ash Grove Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Qualmark and Qualmark Green rated motel in Haruru Falls. Set in stunning gardens with a fabulous pool. Relax in our beautiful and peaceful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of New Zealand paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ash Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Boutique Hotel
Ash Grove Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing