We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good welcome, lovely self contained bungalow and good value motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ash Grove Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ash Grove Motel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Northampton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good welcome, lovely self contained bungalow and good value motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

The motel is a few minutes drive out of the centre of Pahia on the main road. After a good welcome we went to our little self contained bungalow near to the road, The motel had a good (though cold when we visited) pool and private spa (you could book). We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

My only minor worry was that there was a bit of road noise and it was a bit awkward to get out of the motel onto the main road to Pahia. I would not let this put me off booking in again.

Room Tip: If you are very sensitive to road noise make sure you tell the owners when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnystaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
85
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Fantastic time at Ashgrove. Rooms were well equipped and very clean. Kids loved the fact that they could watch Sky when they woke up. Awesome location and only 3 minutes from Paihia town. Motel is modern with a great saltwater pool which the lids loved! Nice and quiet in evenings for relaxing outside with a beer and wine! This is a fantastic place to stay and we will definately be back. We had a lovely time only regret is that we didn't book longer!! Thankyou for a great stay! Will recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nznick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Hosts Stuart and Carol are very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in Unit 8 (stand alone) for 8 nights, and found it to be well appointed (perhaps a hook in the bathroom could be added?) and in immaculate condition. Very comfortable and clean, close to Paihia (say 8 minutes away, but you need a car). Quiet and peaceful. Suggestions for dining in Paihi proved to be well judged. We entertained some guests for a B-B-Q one night, with the endorsement of our hosts. WiFi facilities (provided for in the tariff) were reliable. Laundry facilities were good. We highly recommend this accommodation to you!

Room Tip: Unit 8 is away from the swimming pool - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan_Marianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Really clean place with everything included that you could ever want. Busy road at the front of the unit, but it did not affect our stay.

Premises was located out of town, but only 5 mins in the car to Paihia.

The decor was a little dated, such as the touch lamps and the bedspread. The frying pan in our room looked like it lost its non-stick coating several years back and we did not use it because of this.

We paid $165 per night for 6 nights which I thought was pretty steep.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darwin1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Fabulous welcome from Carol and Stuart on our arrival for our two nights stay. Muffins and a bottle of milk for our cuppa. Our room was superb, with everything included - Hob, microwave and fridge; TV and DVD; large double bed, comfortable chairs, and desk. Ouside in the garden was a table and chairs, barbeque and a swimming pool. Other facilities were free Wifi, laundry, car parking right outside the room, and a superb free Spa Pool, in which we indulged. In fact, we wanted for nothing! This was indeed the best motel/hotel that we stayed in throughout New Zealand. Fantastic value for money. Highly recommended and many thanks to Carol and Stuart.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hookydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We couldn't ask for better, this place rocks. BBQ, pool, hot pool, nice room and nice staff.
We had an amazing day/ night in this place.
We decided to have a nice BBQ instead of spending a lot at the restaurants and it truly worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waiuku, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Even here in the winter, it was a lovely place to stay. We arrived to homemade muffins for afternoon tea. Complimentary Continental breakfast supplied, and a well fitted out kitchen for our own use. More than enough room for five adults. Swimming pool surrounded by gardens and a spa bath. Thank you to Carol and Stuart, we look forward to coming back and will recommend your motel to friends

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
1.8 mi away
Bay Cabinz Motel
Bay Cabinz Motel
#24 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#20 of 44 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aarangi Tui Motel
Aarangi Tui Motel
#36 of 44 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Motel

Property: Ash Grove Motel
Address: Ash Grove Circle | Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ash Grove Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Qualmark and Qualmark Green rated motel in Haruru Falls. Set in stunning gardens with a fabulous pool. Relax in our beautiful and peaceful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of New Zealand paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ash Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Boutique Hotel
Ash Grove Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing