We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent price quality !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ash Grove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ash Grove Motel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent price quality !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This motel is a great example of an excellent price quality relationship. I can strongly recommend you to stay here. Clean, very friendly help, little kitchen support. The street is no big deal, you can hardly hear it. Lovely little pool for the summer. A little out of town, you need a car, but it means less of mass tourism, more attention to detail and the person , the guest. Do stay here !

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
85
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our way up from Auckland to the north via the Bay of Islands. The accommodation was most comfortable, furnished to a good standard, very clean and just a few minutes' drive from Paihia itself. There was a nice kitchen area and good bathroom. Outside our room was a small sitting area and beyond that the pool with plenty of seating. Unfortunately it was a bit chilly to take a dip.

There is a main road nearby, but out of sight. With the windows at the front closed, noise was not an issue.

Wifi was free and if needed there was a laptop to be borrowed from the owners. The owners themselves were extremely pleasant and helpful. We would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family for three nights. Had two very spacious family rooms. Owners happily sorted out my booking errors with no fuss. Spotless well equipped rooms. Good facilities. Nice pool area.

Just a couple of minutes drive from Paihia and the ferry to Russell. Very quiet and relaxing location. Much better option than staying in Paihia or Russell in my view

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waipuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 1. This was a lovely large room with patio doors leading out onto a lovely garden. The staff were welcoming and friendly. WiFi was available free of charge. This was a great place to stay - the only set back was that it it located about a 5/minute drive outside Paihia - not a walk able distance, this is why I'm giving this 4 stars and not 5.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Being about a 5 minute drive from Paihia itself, you really do need a car to stay here, otherwise you face a rather long climb up a hill to get there. The motel itself is fantastic, with clean, well appointed units, a communal garden area (with BBQ if you wish) and a swimming pool.

Our unit was the first one you come to on the way up the drive, and being on the end meant that we had an extra set of windows, meaning that our unit received plenty of natural light. It was nice to have a little table and chairs in the back garden on our patio so that we could sit and have breakfast outside in the morning. The kitchen had everything we needed.

The owners were really friendly, and although we only stayed for 2 nights, we could easily have enjoyed a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Framps69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

As others have said, this motel is a couple of kilometres out of the centre of Pahia, so you really need a car if you stay there, but it suited us fine to be away from the town itself.

Our unit had everything we required and was very clean. There was ample parking, and lovely gardens at the rear of the property with a clean swimming pool. I only went in the pool once during our three night stay though - and it was freezing!

There is an washing machine and tumble dryer for guest use.

We had difficulty connecting to the WIFI signal from inside our room (our unit was the penultimate one from the main building) and the only way to connect up was to go into the garden where the signal strength was good.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful with booking tours for us.

Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

So adaptable, we had booked for 2 nights, but were happy to extend our stay for an extra night. Had a room that looked out to the pool, was lovely. Lovely and quiet, out of the town. Bed, room and room really nice in a great setting. Land Lady really friendly and helpful. Lovely pool to swim in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.8 mi away
Bay Cabinz Motel
Bay Cabinz Motel
#24 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#20 of 44 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.0 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#17 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Motel

Property: Ash Grove Motel
Address: Ash Grove Circle | Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ash Grove Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Qualmark and Qualmark Green rated motel in Haruru Falls. Set in stunning gardens with a fabulous pool. Relax in our beautiful and peaceful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of New Zealand paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ash Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Boutique Hotel
Ash Grove Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing