We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay Sands Motel, Bay of Islands NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Emu Plains Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Bay Sands Motel, Bay of Islands NZ”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights here in May in 2 upstairs rooms overlooking the bay. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable. It was cold weather so we were glad of the electric blankets on the beds. There was an oil filled heater in one room and we should have asked for another for the other room. The kitchens were spotless and well appointed. The manager was very informative and guided us to many wonderful locations. He booked a Bay of Islands cruise for us at 10% discount and took us in his 4 wheel drive to the ferry terminal. Even offered to collect us after the cruise! There is a supermarket (Countdown) around the corner, best to drive to it. 10 minutes walk into town centre and 7 minutes walk to Shippeys fish and chip restaurant. Close to Waitangi Treaty Centre but best to drive here too. Great location opposite the bay and reasonably priced. Would highly recommend this 10 room small motel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocam2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Hi, Thank you for your kind words. We are always improving, and hope to see you again someday. Cheers from Bay of Islands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    31
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
38
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012

If you are planning a trip to the Bay of Isles on the North Island of N.Z. We would highly recommend this lovely motel in Paihia. We recently stayed there for a week. It's very clean and reasonably priced, and directly across the road from the beach. A short walk into town, gives you access to all the tour boats that explore the Islands, and they are worth the cost, as it's a wonderful area. Lots of great restaurants to choose from along the waterfront. The owners of the motel are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, with small well equipped kitchens. All have balconies. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 10 days in January for our "summer holiday". The location was only a comfortable stroll from the main shopping area, restaurants and ferry, and was directly across the road from the beach. The host was very friendly and helpful and would daily dish out very good advice about where to go and what to see. The decor was a little dated, but the room was very clean and comfortable, and the kitchenette was well equipped. I think the only draw back was rather tight parking for our large 4 wheel drive vehicle.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeAwamutuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

There was only one review on Trip Advisor for this place when I was considering where to stay in Paihia. Because of this Baysands is lower in the ratings than what it deserves. I usually only book places that get consistently good reviews and are in a good location and therefore sit rather high in the ratings. However I would think that this place will move higher in the ratings when more people give it a go and take the time to do a review. It would also help IF the owners provided more photos on their web site to help people see what the place is really like. More detailed photos of the rooms and kitchens etc.
We checked out a number of accommodation web sites and reviews when deciding where to stay for 3 nights in the Bay of Islands. For the time of year we were staying this place came in with the best price for the three of us. We wanted to be located on the waterfront and be either in town or a very short walk away and once again the Bay Sands ticked all the boxes. The motel is approximately 400 meters into the centre of town where the shops, restaurants and tours depart. It took us around 7 minutes to stroll around there along the waterfront. There is a very good children’s park just across the street from the motel and next door is a petrol station, bakery and convenience store. You can also walk to the large ‘Countdown’ supermarket which is in the opposite direction to the main business area.
Our room was upstairs and was very clean, comfortable and even though it was not new and modern it did have some areas refurbished such as a good shower and handbasin. The beds were comfortable and there are electric blankets and a heater provided. There is a TV with sky channels and wireless internet is available at a cost. The room has a small kitchenette which is just as you walk in the door, there is also a door separating this from the bedroom which is large, has a queen and single bed, chest of drawers, bedside tables, round dining table and chairs and a small round table with 2 chairs. There is also a large glass sliding door going out to the balcony on the other side of the room with an outdoor table and two chairs. From either balcony you get side views of the ocean. There are rooms at the front of the hotel with direct views. As for the kitchenette there was a small fridge, 2 hotplates and microwave. Most basic utensils were provided allowing you to prepare and cook meals. There is a washing machine and dryer available downstairs for guests at a charge. One drawback is the small parking spaces which are difficult to get your car in and out particularly if there is another vehicle parked next to your space. Overall we had a very pleasant stay here and would return. We booked via wotif.

Room Tip: sea views are available from rooms located on the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We came to Paihia without a clue where we were going to stay and stumbled upon Bay Sand. Peter, the co-owner, was extremely friendly and likeable, and was willing to negotiate the price during the off season. We got the 2nd floor front room overlooking the water for only a few dollars more than the regular room rate. It was well worth it.

In terms of location, it is on the water about a 5 minute walk to the wharf and "downtown" of Paihia. There is also a convenience store a few meters away if you forget something.

The room is very well set up with a fridge, microwave, 2-burner stove, and all the utensils one would need to self-cater. We had a great dinner that night with locally caught fish, salad, wine, etc. It was all very easy.

The room was very clean and the queen size bed very comfortable. There is also an additional single bed for a child or third person. Every possible need has been thought of and provided for. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is extremely clean, comfortable, convenient, and an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CardiffNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#27 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#9 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Sands Seafront Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Sands Seafront Studios

Property: Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Address: 136 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Sands Seafront Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family style Studio Apartments located on the waterfront at the best beach in Paihia. Free Kayaks, Bicycles, BBQ facility. Free in room WiFi, SKY TV GUEST SELECT. We are located within easy walking distance of the village square, shops and restaurants. All units are equipped with kitchen facilities.Each unit sleeps three persons with one queen and one single bed. An extra bed can be added for a small charge. The family apartment accommodates up to four persons and has a Queen and two singles.Bay Sands Seafront Studios, the Motel that feels like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Sands Seafront Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Sands Seafront Studios Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing