We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
29
33
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
33
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadsea facingpaihia wharfan updatehelpful ownershort walklovely spotthe kitchenserviced dailynew zealandstayed here for nightsenjoyed our staybalconymotelbayviewsunit
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012

If you are planning a trip to the Bay of Isles on the North Island of N.Z. We would highly recommend this lovely motel in Paihia. We recently stayed there for a week. It's very clean and reasonably priced, and directly across the road from the beach. A short walk into town, gives you access to all the tour boats that explore the Islands, and they are worth the cost, as it's a wonderful area. Lots of great restaurants to choose from along the waterfront. The owners of the motel are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, with small well equipped kitchens. All have balconies. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 10 days in January for our "summer holiday". The location was only a comfortable stroll from the main shopping area, restaurants and ferry, and was directly across the road from the beach. The host was very friendly and helpful and would daily dish out very good advice about where to go and what to see. The decor was a little dated, but the room was very clean and comfortable, and the kitchenette was well equipped. I think the only draw back was rather tight parking for our large 4 wheel drive vehicle.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeAwamutuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

There was only one review on Trip Advisor for this place when I was considering where to stay in Paihia. Because of this Baysands is lower in the ratings than what it deserves. I usually only book places that get consistently good reviews and are in a good location and therefore sit rather high in the ratings. However I would think that this place will move higher in the ratings when more people give it a go and take the time to do a review. It would also help IF the owners provided more photos on their web site to help people see what the place is really like. More detailed photos of the rooms and kitchens etc.
We checked out a number of accommodation web sites and reviews when deciding where to stay for 3 nights in the Bay of Islands. For the time of year we were staying this place came in with the best price for the three of us. We wanted to be located on the waterfront and be either in town or a very short walk away and once again the Bay Sands ticked all the boxes. The motel is approximately 400 meters into the centre of town where the shops, restaurants and tours depart. It took us around 7 minutes to stroll around there along the waterfront. There is a very good children’s park just across the street from the motel and next door is a petrol station, bakery and convenience store. You can also walk to the large ‘Countdown’ supermarket which is in the opposite direction to the main business area.
Our room was upstairs and was very clean, comfortable and even though it was not new and modern it did have some areas refurbished such as a good shower and handbasin. The beds were comfortable and there are electric blankets and a heater provided. There is a TV with sky channels and wireless internet is available at a cost. The room has a small kitchenette which is just as you walk in the door, there is also a door separating this from the bedroom which is large, has a queen and single bed, chest of drawers, bedside tables, round dining table and chairs and a small round table with 2 chairs. There is also a large glass sliding door going out to the balcony on the other side of the room with an outdoor table and two chairs. From either balcony you get side views of the ocean. There are rooms at the front of the hotel with direct views. As for the kitchenette there was a small fridge, 2 hotplates and microwave. Most basic utensils were provided allowing you to prepare and cook meals. There is a washing machine and dryer available downstairs for guests at a charge. One drawback is the small parking spaces which are difficult to get your car in and out particularly if there is another vehicle parked next to your space. Overall we had a very pleasant stay here and would return. We booked via wotif.

Room Tip: sea views are available from rooms located on the side.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We came to Paihia without a clue where we were going to stay and stumbled upon Bay Sand. Peter, the co-owner, was extremely friendly and likeable, and was willing to negotiate the price during the off season. We got the 2nd floor front room overlooking the water for only a few dollars more than the regular room rate. It was well worth it.

In terms of location, it is on the water about a 5 minute walk to the wharf and "downtown" of Paihia. There is also a convenience store a few meters away if you forget something.

The room is very well set up with a fridge, microwave, 2-burner stove, and all the utensils one would need to self-cater. We had a great dinner that night with locally caught fish, salad, wine, etc. It was all very easy.

The room was very clean and the queen size bed very comfortable. There is also an additional single bed for a child or third person. Every possible need has been thought of and provided for. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is extremely clean, comfortable, convenient, and an excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CardiffNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews