We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Bay Sands Motel Oct. 22 & 24”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Peaceful, excelent stop over at a nicely equipped, comfortable, beach front Motel with free Wi-Fi to connect with friends, check mail, plan trips.

Meet the most pleasant owners and manager with a gentl & friendly pet named Coal.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are excellent, we were in the unit 7 on the second floor. Peaceful, just great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tradicional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you for your kind words. Every day we work to make our guest experience better. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

Had 3 nights at the motel. Ground Floor. Still had a good view of the harbour. Found the unit to be clean and tidy with nice appliances in the kitched.. Would have no hessitation in returning. Good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matts32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Hi Matts32,
Thank you for your kind words. Every day we find a way to make BAy Sands better!
Cheers from sunny Paihia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly, the rooms were in great condition and clean. The place is just opposite the beach, sea view from the balcony.
We enjoyed our stay and the plenty of tips what to do in Paihia and Russell.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markusauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Hello Markusauckland,
And thank you for your visit.
Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers from sunny Paihia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Nothing can beat the view from the upstairs room! I stayed for two nights (wish it could have been two months). Everything was spotless, the room huge and the people delightful. I appreciated that it was a bay away from the center of Paihia (making the location a bit less busy and offering a bit more exercise) and near the Waitangi Treaty Grounds.

I had no vehicle (arrived in Paihia by the Intercity bus from Auckland) and walked everywhere. It was a joy!

No photo to share, but if TripAdvisor lets this link go through, here's a video from the room.
https://picasaweb.google.com/108472180719700644626/NewZealand2012?authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCKns27zhiq-VQw&feat=directlink

Room Tip: If you can get rooms 4 or 5 they have the best view. The tradeoff is they're on the road so a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeadingWomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Hi,
Thank you for the kind words.
Hope to see you again in sunny Paihia!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights here in May in 2 upstairs rooms overlooking the bay. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable. It was cold weather so we were glad of the electric blankets on the beds. There was an oil filled heater in one room and we should have asked for another for the other room. The kitchens were spotless and well appointed. The manager was very informative and guided us to many wonderful locations. He booked a Bay of Islands cruise for us at 10% discount and took us in his 4 wheel drive to the ferry terminal. Even offered to collect us after the cruise! There is a supermarket (Countdown) around the corner, best to drive to it. 10 minutes walk into town centre and 7 minutes walk to Shippeys fish and chip restaurant. Close to Waitangi Treaty Centre but best to drive here too. Great location opposite the bay and reasonably priced. Would highly recommend this 10 room small motel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocam2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Hi, Thank you for your kind words. We are always improving, and hope to see you again someday. Cheers from Bay of Islands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

If you are planning a trip to the Bay of Isles on the North Island of N.Z. We would highly recommend this lovely motel in Paihia. We recently stayed there for a week. It's very clean and reasonably priced, and directly across the road from the beach. A short walk into town, gives you access to all the tour boats that explore the Islands, and they are worth the cost, as it's a wonderful area. Lots of great restaurants to choose from along the waterfront. The owners of the motel are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, with small well equipped kitchens. All have balconies. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 10 days in January for our "summer holiday". The location was only a comfortable stroll from the main shopping area, restaurants and ferry, and was directly across the road from the beach. The host was very friendly and helpful and would daily dish out very good advice about where to go and what to see. The decor was a little dated, but the room was very clean and comfortable, and the kitchenette was well equipped. I think the only draw back was rather tight parking for our large 4 wheel drive vehicle.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeAwamutuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#17 of 43 in Paihia
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Sands Seafront Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Sands Seafront Studios

Address: 136 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £49 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Sands Seafront Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family style Studio Apartments located on the waterfront at the best beach in Paihia. Free Kayaks, Bicycles, BBQ facility. Free in room WiFi, SKY TV GUEST SELECT. We are located within easy walking distance of the village square, shops and restaurants. All units are equipped with kitchen facilities.Each unit sleeps three persons with one queen and one single bed. An extra bed can be added for a small charge. The family apartment accommodates up to four persons and has a Queen and two singles.Bay Sands Seafront Studios, the Motel that feels like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Sands Seafront Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Sands Seafront Studios Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing