We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We spent 4 nights here in early February and were very pleased with our choice of accommodation. We had a sea view room which was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed.

We were in Paihia for the Waitangi Celebrations and although the weather was very wet and pretty chilly, we enjoyed it very much.

This motel is in a superb location which means it is only a 10 minute walk to both Waitangi and the centre of Paihia.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Hi Folks,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Bay Sands. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday. Next year we'll order up some sunny skies for you!
We hope to see you again someday soon.

Cheers,
Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

The other property for which we had already booked two nights accommodation was fully booked by the time we decided to add an extra night to the start of our North Island tour. We found the standard of the rooms on our holiday to be very good, most were clean and comfortable and Bay Sands was up to that standard. So what makes one property stand out from the others are the little things. We had a ground floor studio with a sea view (No. 2). The bed/sitting room had a kitchen at the back together with an en-suite bathroom and was located just across the road from the sea and a 10 minute walk from the centre. There was no traffic noise. We had difficulty connecting to the wifi, but the owner was very helpful and came to the room and got us connected. He was also able to offer a 10% discount on our sea cruise by booking directly on line for us.
We enjoyed the Waitangi Treaty grounds and drove the Million dollar view road - fabulous views
Ate at Ruffinos Italian
Next a trip of just 100 yards along the road!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Hi Folks,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Bay Sands. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday.
We hope to see you again someday soon.

Cheers,
Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have visited over 60 countries and consider ourselves experienced travelers. Bay Sands Motel is one of the cleanest places we have been to. Clean, tidy, spacious with everything you need. The owners and staff went out of their way to make it an absolute SUPER FANTASTIC experience. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We LOVED room number 5 and will ask for the same one again. Our parents stayed in room 7, it had lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Hi Folks,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Bay Sands. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday. Wow, you have really been everywhere!
We hope to see you again someday soon.

Cheers,
Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great place to stay, clean comfortable and convenient, all mod cons. Tea,coffee and milk given, cooking facilities and spotless crockery etc.
Manager extremely helpful. Within walking distance to the little town. Supermarket round the corner.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view and a sitting area outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your kinds words.
It is invigorating to receive a good review from a seasoned traveler such as yourself.
We hope to host you again someday.
Tulay, Owner, Bay Sands
Baysandsmotel@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for a few days and had a lovely time. Sufficient space to cook for yourself, lovely sized room and perfect location. Very helpful people who assisted us in sorting out some of our side trips.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear sir, Thank you for the kind review. We are always pleased to hear from our guests.
Bon Voyage!
Tulay, Owner
Baysandsmotel@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a 'de-stress' get away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. The owner was incredibly friendly, the room was exceptionally clean (was a lovely surprise to come back to find the dishes we'd left draining on the bench had been dried and put away for us), the beds were super comfy and the room was very spacious. Beautiful views and even tho we were right by the main road, traffic noise did not disturb us. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Hello Jodi Z,
Thank you for your recent visit to Bay Sands Motel In Paihia. I'm happy to read your kind reviews on tripadvisor.
When you do decide to visit Bay of Islands again, please consider dropping me a line and I will personally see to it that you are well provided for.

One again, thank you for your valuable input, and happy travels to you.

Kind regards
Mrs. Brumback,
Owner
Bay Sands Paihia
Baysandsmotel@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed for three days in Paihia in this motel. The owner was more than helpful. The room was a little dated, but clean and spacious and more than adequate. Reasonable prices make this a good consideration for the lower end of the accomodation market.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

HI Jan L,
Thank you for your recent stay with us as Bay Sands Paihia.
We rather enjoy our "retro" look, although we are doing upgrades as well!
Please feel free to contact me personally when you return to our area. We would love to host you again!
Kind Regards,
Mrs. Brumback
Owner
Bay Sands Paihia
baysandsmotel@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
0.7 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#22 of 43 in Paihia
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#17 of 43 in Paihia
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#9 of 43 in Paihia
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Sands Seafront Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Sands Seafront Studios

Address: 136 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £60 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Sands Seafront Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family style Studio Apartments located on the waterfront at the best beach in Paihia. Free Kayaks, Bicycles, BBQ facility. Free in room WiFi, SKY TV GUEST SELECT. We are located within easy walking distance of the village square, shops and restaurants. All units are equipped with kitchen facilities.Each unit sleeps three persons with one queen and one single bed. An extra bed can be added for a small charge. The family apartment accommodates up to four persons and has a Queen and two singles.Bay Sands Seafront Studios, the Motel that feels like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Sands Seafront Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Sands Seafront Studios Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing