We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our recent 5 day stay in Paihia”
Review of Outrigger Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outrigger Motel
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We enjoyed another great stay with Greg & Susi at the Outrigger. A spotless,comfortable & very well appointed unit with cooking facilities. Greg & Susi both have excellent people skills & were most informative & helpful in outlining all available activities in the Bay of Islands.Being without car, they even offered to drive us up hill to the Waitangi Treaty House for sightseeing with suggestion we could easily walk the downhill short trip back to Paihia township.The Outrigger Motel is very conveniently located to the township's central business district & is an easy 5 minute walk from the wharf & bus depot. Highly recommended establishment.

Room Tip: We have always preferred to stay in Unit 11 next to the office.This is slightly elevated from ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thanks guys - we appreciate your kind words and glad you had a great stay. It was lovely to have you both again and we wish you a great year ahead. Kind regards
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

We spent 2 nights here at the end of January, We'd never stayed in a motel before and this gem of a find surpassed our expectations by a mile. The accommodation was well presented and spotless with everything provided that you would need for a short stay. The bed was very comfortable too!

The location is perfect, on a quiet side street yet only a short stroll to the seafront, shops and restaurants. The well stocked supermarket is also very near for all your essentials.

The staff were very friendly and helpful - we just called in on spec after walking by and liking the look of the place from the outside. The motel is just next to the small Police station so I think a quiet night is guaranteed!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FestivalFolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we appreciate it. Thanks! Greg and Suzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great little place with all you need for a stay in Paihia, central, helpfull hosts, clean and tidy room and good bed too!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thanks Colin - much appreciated comments when you are busy and on the road so much as a corporate. Hopefully we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Outrigger Motel. The service was outstanding in both efficiency and friendliness with the hosts going the extra mile without even being asked. The location is excellent; close to everything you could possibly want but it was also beautifully quiet, just slightly away from the hustle of the main road. The cleanliness couldn't be faulted. However the highlight for me was their adorable cat !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Ah yes - Sassy cat takes good care of all the cat lovers, but only if she's in the mood .....of course! Thanks guys we appreciate your kind comments. Take care, Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Outrigger Motel over New Years and I have never been so impressed with a motel in NZ! Greg and Suzi are the most incredible hosts, so friendly and helpful, and Suzi must be the nicest lady I have ever met! :)

We booked last minute (by literally walking into the office and asking) and we were able to stay 4 nights by moving to different rooms. As we had our car with us this was not a problem at all and we got to see 3 different rooms at the Outrigger. All were spotlessly clean, light and airy with everything you need. The beds were comfortable, the showers were clean and had great pressure, and the kitchens were well equipped.

Overall we had an amazing trip to the Bay of Islands and this was largely due to staying at the Outrigger! Thanks Greg and Suzi for your wonderful hospitality, we will no doubt be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Thank you for your fine compliments and glad you enjoyed your time in Paihia! You are lovely people and your comments are very much appreciated. Hope to see you again! Wishing you both a great 2012, Greg and Suzi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Myself & 3 mates stayed at the Outrigger Motel for 8 nights & thoroughly enjoyed it.

As they say, when looking for accomodation its Location, Location, Location.....
It is right in the heart oh Paihia, the room was light & bright & spotlessly clean.

We were fishing everyday, and couldnt wait to get back to the Outrigger for a hot shower & a nice clean comfy bed.

Greg & Suzi are the best hosts we have ever encountered, nothing was too much trouble for them, and always so happy & friendly, except Greg kept on wearing that bloody all blacks shirt!!

I will be booking in again for next November.

Cheers Craig Stevo

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Hey thanks guys, it was a pleasure to have you and glad you had an awesome time. There is nothing like being out on the Bay is there?
Yes, very proud New Zealanders here - Go the All Blacks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed at Outrigger Motel with friends in a one bedroom unit. Everything was fantastic - hot showers, clean room, BBQ available and hot tub.
Suzi and Greg were amazing hosts (and Georgie their dog too), always a friendly smile and helpful when asked touristy questions.
1 min walk to shops, jetty and restaurants.
I will definitely be back and be recommending to family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiskigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

thank you very much and glad we could accommodate you so well. Hope to see you again in Paihia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
669 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £70 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outrigger Motel is a family-run motel located in central Paihia, offering warm, welcoming hospitality with comfortable and quiet accommodation for your visit to the stunning Bay of Islands. We are a short stroll from Paihia’s shops, restaurants and beaches, with easy access to all the water, land and air activities that this beautiful destination has. The Bay of Islands, “where New Zealand stories begin”, is rich with culture, history and adventure possibilities – or you can just relax on our picturesque beaches. Look at our Suzi's Top 10 Must-Do Attractions and take advantage of our free activity booking service at reception. Suzi & Greg are your welcoming hosts at the Outrigger Motel in Paihia. Outrigger Motel has immaculate, clean and sun-drenched units. All rooms have comfy beds, modern kitchens, pristine bathrooms, and relaxing outdoor seating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing