We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great NZ hospitality”
Review of Outrigger Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Outrigger Motel
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

A very well situated Motel central and very convenient to shops, restaurants and all activities.
Fully equipped and comfortable accommodation.
Suzi and Greg very welcoming, helpful and concerned that we got the most out of our visit, not only to their Motel but also Paihia.
Colin & Mandy England

Room Tip: As in most cases, request a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Outrigger Motel - we appreciate it. We are so pleased when our guests get to enjoy the beauty of our area.
Alot of people do prefer upstairs too just as a note to others. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

Highly recommended
Had stayed here before about 11 years ago - and this visit did not disappoint
Spacious units equipped with everything you could need. Very clean and well serviced.
Staff were were very friendly and welcoming
Great location - off main road so quieter but within a couple hundred metres of town centre and the water, ferries etc.
Fabulous motel

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Thank for coming back to Outrigger Motel and we thank you for taking the time to review us. Very happy you enjoyed your time in Paihia again - we love it too! Thank you again and have a fantastic 2013. Kind regards
Suzi and Greg and team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This Motel was first rate from the wonderful hosts, the spotless unit, the well organised recycling, the locality, and the equipment, from cutlery to ironing board that was provided to make our stay very comfortable. There is a laundry for guests.

If you are mobility challenged ask for a downstairs unit.
In spite of its proximity to the centre of Paihia, it was quiet, whilst providing easy walking access to all that Paihia can offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Thank you for your kind words and we are very pleased you enjoyed your time in Paihia. Be safe and have a fantastic 2013. Many thanks
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

It was a home away from home! Great hosts! Comfy beds! Our tv remote was missing when we arrived but Greg found it no worries! Spa was relaxing! It's a very short stroll down to great restaurants, bars, and shops! Although we've stayed several places in Paihia we now found somewhere we can take the kids! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richandjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thanks guys for your great review and thank you for being with us here in Paihia. We appreciate it and yes I hope we do see you again. Have a great 2013 Kind regards
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We thoughly enjoyed our stay here! We had a large bedroom, large living area with kitchen and a large bath...all extremely clean. The hosts were very welcoming, and assisted us, several months before our arrival, in offering suggestions on where to spend New Year's Eve. The motel is very quiet and close to all of the things we wanted to do in and around Paihia. I would stay here again in a minute and highly recommend it to anyone. Great job Suzie and Greg...keep up the good work in Paihia!!

Room Tip: Get a room with the kitchen. There is a small grocery store next door and you can buy stuff for bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you very much Leigh and love your tips for future guests. Thank you! Wishing you all the best for a fantastic 2013. Kind regards
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We were very happy to stay here. We had one family unit for ourselves and one studio upstairs for my parents. They both nice, clean and cosy. Good service. very handy location. Actually excellent location. close to restaurants, ferry station, shops. play ground, police station next door. Great stay. we will go back next time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we so sppreciate your review. Have a fantastic 2013. Kind regards
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We had such a nice stay here. The hosts were so friendly and welcoming and we were made to feel at home. The unit we had was immaculate. It was so modern and comfortable.
Its just a 5 minute walk to the main street, buts it also in a quiet spot.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Wow, thanks for those great comments Wade. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time with us in Paihia and would love to see you again sometime. Have a great summer and all the best - Suzi and Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#13 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £65 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our CENTRAL quiet location in beautifiul Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark Three PLUS STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE WIRELESS INTERNET and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi (Life membership NZ Motel Assoc.2014) And Greg (NZ Local Heroes Award for community) welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing