We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most pleasant second stay at the Outrigger in Paihia”
Review of Outrigger Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Motel
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Our second stay at the Outrigger Host Accommodation Motel did not in any way disappoint us.

This motel is clean, well equipped and exceptionally well located to access the sights and shops in Paihia. Our unit had absolutely everything we needed to be comfortable, relaxed and to self-cater as and when we wanted.

Good supermarket just round the corner and starting point for the many Bay of Islands cruises just down the road. Ideal.

Add to that the warm, courteous and informative welcome our hosts Suzi and Greg gave us and is is no wonder we had a most pleasant stay.

We unreservedly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gehdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you, you lovely people! So nice to have you here again. We are very humbled you return to us.
Thank you also for pointing out the likes of the supermarket etc for fellow guests.
May you both have the best 2014 and take good care.
Cheers
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

A great place, the studio was modern, immaculately clean, comfortable and well equipped. Right in the centre of Paihia, it was minutes walk from shops, restaurants and bars, also from the quay where the ferries departed.

Very friendly and helpful hosts, even tho the owners had a family bereavement while I was there, service was as good as ever. Don't stay anywhere else in Paihia!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, they had both chairs and a table outside, where the upstairs rooms only...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Hi Julie,

Thank you for your kind words and recognition of the passing of my dear father. The family have had a huge month with Dad's illness - quite trying at times to keep being a good host.
thank you Julie and hope your travels have created many happy memories for you.

cheers
Suzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Needed a place to stay in paihia at the last minute over new years 2013/14. Spent 3 nights in this motel and had a fantastic experience. Very reasonably priced for this time of year. Very handy with a four square (supermarket) right next door and bakery 3 doors down. Clean, modern unit and also a spa pool out the back. Perfect position in town, close enough to be handy to the shops but without the noise. Really enjoyed out time there and the owners could not have been more helpful

Room Tip: upstairs room was good with nice but small balcony
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campbell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Hi Cameron,
It was great to have you both and pleased you got the chance to stay in Paihia over New Year. Hope you enjoyed the fireworks, Circus in the Village Green, and the atmosphere around town over that period.
Enjoy your travels and have a fantastic 2014!
Cheers
Suzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights from the 28th 2013 - 1st January 2014 in an upstairs Studio unit which was perfect for us. Clean and tidy and really friendly hosts making sure we had everything we needed and offering advice about things to do around the Bay of Islands. Would definitely recommend to all wanting good value accommodation in a superb location only a stones throw from the shops/restaurants in Paihia township.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicMc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you Nicky. Have a good 2014
cheers
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked a room here on the spur of the moment, but we lucked out big time. The room was spacious and well presented, location was fantastic, and facilities were all we could have asked for. The real star here though are the owners, Greg & Suzy, as many others have said. They were only to happy to help us with suggestions for activities, make bookings for us, and recommend particularly beautiful areas to visit. We would have had a great time in the Bay of Islands either way, but Greg & Suzy made sure that our visit was top notch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Cheers Dan A pleasure to meet you.
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Paihia. Great central location, not on the main street but a quick walk to the wharf and ferry to Russell.
Greg and Suzy were so welcoming, always available if help needed. Their recommendation for our Cape Reinga trip was perfect. Our room was immaculate and bed was very comfy. I appreciated their efforts in being eco-friendly. Definite recommendation if you are staying here...excellent value!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Merry Christmas Valerie and wishing you a happy New Year.
Appreciate your comments which will help others in their decision making.
Great to have you in Paihia and seeyou again!
Cheers
Suzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Greg and Suzi did a great job of hosting us for this event, could always be found for dining tips, great coffee and even arranged golf for us. Everything you could want from a host and such a convenient location for everything you want to do in Paihia

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fordo_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Firstly thank you all for being with us. The Swim series event off well and Paihia turned on the weather after a wet start. Thanks to you all and hope the golf went as well as the weekend!
Merry Christmas and Cheers Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#13 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £58 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our CENTRAL quiet location in beautifiul Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark Three PLUS STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE WIRELESS INTERNET and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi (Life membership NZ Motel Assoc.2014) And Greg (NZ Local Heroes Award for community) welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing