We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for Bay of Islands”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Outrigger Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outrigger Motel
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great base for Bay of Islands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very welcoming hosts - lots of advice which was helpful. Very clean. We were in a studio which was spacious with a great shower. Good kitchen area with rings and microwave. Very easy for walk into town but quiet. Less than 10 minutes from the waterfront. Could do with a couple of luggage racks and as we were on the first floor not easy to sit on the 2 outside chairs as they were on the corridor to adjoining rooms. Paihia is a great base for the area and we had a lovely 3 nights there. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DameB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review and hope all your travels went great. Was lovely to have you here with us in Paihia.
Kind regards
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    51
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
108
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great motel, friendly owners and staff plus a very cool cat! Had three lovely days at Outrigger Motel, quiet unit close to shops and wharf, handy to everything. Wifi, good parking, eco-friendly. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Sassy cat used her cranky charms again! She's an old beautiful ..... cat, that keeps us on our toes - that's for real!
thank for being with us and glad you had a nice time in the Bay of Islands and thank you for taking the time to review us. We have been so lucky to have great guests - thank you.
Cheers
Suzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a well run place with the owners in place for 13 yrs, and it shows. All under control and very functional units. We stayed for 4 nights and the day service was efficient. Car parking is a bit tight but it works.

Room Tip: We were in rm 3. No noise from either side. The ceiling fan deals well with the build up of heat in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Great to have you both Alan, hope you enjoyed our piece of paradise in the Bay of Islands. Thanks for taking time out of your tour to comment on us and enjoy the remainder of your trip.
Safe travels,
Suzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in mid Feb in a studio unit. Ticks all the boxes. Very clean, comfortable, ideal location, good value and helpful friendly hosts. Plus they have got a quite dog and cat.

Fully recommend as a base to tour the Bay of Islands.

Left a pair of trainers behind which they kindly posted on to us in Wellington!

Hopefully will stay there again if we return to NZ.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
HI Dave and Maggie,
Hope the remainder of your trip went great and thank you for taking the time to write a review on you vacation time. Thank you also for the surprise in the mail also - that was so lovely of you both and lifted us both at a very hectic time.
Love to see you again one day -as you say, we never know where our paths may pass!
Take care and enjoy life
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I've returned to this wonderful motel for the second time within 16 months and this time took a five-day vacation. There was a reason for choosing this particular motel and I was not disappointed. The studio was spacious, with fully equipped kitchen, utterly clean. Free internet and many SKY channels- that was a big improvement. The hosts Greg and Suzy were out of their way to help me with all my needs. The room had been taken care of daily, something that is not common in regular self-catering motels. Unfortunately we all had two days of pouring rains, right on Waitangi Day, but I could still enjoy my stay at the apartment with no problem passing the time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you Orna, and we trust the remainder of your trip went well. Thank you again for returning to us. We love having you! Thank you for your kind words and glad everything great for you.
Unfortunately the weather gods didn't want to give us our usual Watangi Day weather of brilliant sunshine for the celebrations.
Thanks again Orna and take good care.
Kindest regards from us both, Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I think this was the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in, the location was also superb. Maybe we didn't have a view but than again who stays in your room when you are in the Bay of Islands? Suzi and Greg were great, they booked our dolphin tour very last minute and got us in.
I think the price was very fair and as we were on a budget I thought the cleanliness and quality was there.
Everything was great except of course the bed, thus the four stars. But this is where I have to say that in New Zealand I am fully convinced the price of the hotel is based on the mattress. In this case, while my husband larger is and the mattress rather soft was, I had the feeling I was going to get thrown out at any time. Every bodes tastes are different though...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
thank you for your review. Yes we pride ourselves on our care and cleanliness with our awesome teamwork. Thanks team!
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

From the moment we arrived at Outrigger, Suzi and Greg made us feel 'at home'. So welcoming and friendly and only too happy to give recommendations which seems very typical of the great service they give as hosts. The motel is very well presented, our room was clean and comfortable and fully equipped with a small kitchen. The location was very convenient and there was ample parking space whilst very convenient to shops and tour departures at the wharf yet quiet all of the time
Highly recommend to everyone staying in Paihia.
We would return there if and when we come back to New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belly5uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Our Pleasure!

Thank you for your time spent writing a review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Paihia.
Until next time (??!) take care and safe travels.
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Property: Outrigger Motel
Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#13 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet location in central Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark Three PLUS STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE WIRELESS INTERNET and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi (Life membership NZ Motel Assoc.2014) And Greg (NZ Local Heroes Award for community) welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing