We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean double ensuite room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Nice clean double ensuite room with bedding and towels provided. Good location with just a short walk to the center of paihia. Helpful staff to plan where to eat etc. Quiet as well so can get a good night's sleep.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sarahm0rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

The YHA in Paihia is really special, it's quiet and that's why it's the best place to stay and have a good rest in the Bay of Islands. Not far away from the centre and close to the beach, with a cool kitchen, good lounge (the only place in the world with so many VHS!).
Moreover Andy & Travis are always here for you, whatever you need!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilien Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at YHA Paihia on and off for the last few months and have been incredibly happy with my experience here.

The hostel has everything you could want, it's central (without being to close to the bars/clubs for noise to be a problem), it's comfortable and clean.

For me what I've enjoyed most is the staff/owners. They are very friendly and helpful. There is a nice family-run vibe and it is a great placed to be based while in Paihia.

I will definitely come back next time I'm up in the Bay of Islands.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Lots to do in Paihia, worth staying a few days. Went dolphin watching which was brilliant, and lots of bush/coastal walks. Boardwalks in the mangroves, swam to an island, kayaking. Waitangi & Russell interesting for history, too.
Nice to come home to the YHA in the evening, calm and clean, close to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on Feb 20th for one night in a 4 bed dorm. The staff are good and the hostel is located right in the heart of the bars etc., and very close to the beach, so it's a sociable and I'd suggest, a hostel with mainly 18-21 year olds. Without wanting to sound harsh, the dorm I was in has seen better days! The dorm was fairly small, but the biggest issue was that the bunk bed (I was at the top) was unstable....so a: it felt like it would break any moment and b: every time I moved, it creaked like crazy. The bathroom was tiny and didn't feel overly clean. The hostel did have a good vibe though and although I would not stay here again, If you want a sociable hostel, this is probably a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

very good clean hostel and staff very very helpful. above and beyond there position.
Andy the manager was on site all the time to help with queries.As we had car problems they photo copied everything for us to send to the AA.

Room Tip: all rooms en suite
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Spent three nights here in a double room with en-suite. Great room, great atmosphere and close to everything, food, drink and tourist trips from the wharf. Outside area downstairs was great to sit and chill with a Corona and use our computers with the free WiFi for YHA members.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Lodge
Saltwater Lodge
#10 of 30 in Paihia
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Bay of Islands Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bay of Islands Paihia

Address: Corner Kings Road and MacMurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: £24 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Bay of Islands Paihia 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia Located in the Far North of New Zealand , the Bay of Islands is renowned for its rich cultural hsitory and magnificent scenery and is a must-see when visiting New Zealand. Paihia, the gateway to the Bay of Islands, is a bustling seaside town with superb safe swimming beaches and is the starting point for a wide range of activities and attractionsThe YHA Bay of Islands Paihia is a purpose built two-level hostel in the heart of Paihia offering affordable, comfortable, quiet and secure accommodation for singles, couples, families and groups. It can accommodate up to 50 people in rooms ranging from single, double and shared twin to four and eight-bed dormitories, a six-bed cabin and a female-only dormitory room. All rooms have their own ensuite bathrooms.Our cosy hostel has a fully-equipped kitchen , lounge, laundry facilities and plenty of outdoor dining space. There is car parking on the street outside and tennis courts next door.Amenities, including a food market, shops, information centres, and restaurants and bars are all located within easy walking distance. The beach is 100 metres from the door and the Paihia wharf, the beginning of many of the Bay’s water-based activities, is a short stroll along the waterfront. While you are close to all the action, our hostel is secluded enough for you to enjoy a quiet and uninterrupted night’s sleep.Our staff are committed to ensuring that you have a comfortable stay and a memorable visit to our special part of the world. They will happily answer any questions, offer suggestions and assist you in planning and booking activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Bay of Islands Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Bay Of Islands Paihia New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing