We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant day sailing”
Review of Explore- Sail Lion New Zealand - CLOSED

Explore- Sail Lion New Zealand
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience a full day sailing adventure on the legendary ocean going maxi yacht. Feel the thrill of taking the helm that Sir Peter Blake once steered on course. Join the crew in sailing this great vessel around the spectacular scenery of the Bay of Islands...
Beccles, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant day sailing”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

It is a fabulous day on the water. You can be active, grinding and steering, or passive sun-bathing, although it is good to have plenty to help. The boat seems to be a magnet for dolphins. With sail, swim, lunch and sail it is great value for money. Next time I'm in Paihia, I'm definitely booking again for my 4th trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Taupo
1 review
“Awesome and a must do!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Had a absolute blast. As the only kiwis on the trip we enjoyed getting to know the tourists where they had been and where they were going next in our beautiful country. Beautiful scenery. An awesome skipper paul who was only too happy to answer everyones questions with his advanced knowledge of sailing. An adventure packed day out in the sun great food and company not to be missed!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shan3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lion of New Zealand”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

A fabulous day out in the Bay of Islands. Very competent and caring crew who made everyone feel safe and secure. The way to see the Bay! Long may they continue showing off this historic vessel in its natural environment,

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank margaret y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“It was a dream come true”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just Awesome,
I'm told I grinned from start to finish. The chance to sail a 70 ft Maxi, with such a pedigree, in one of the most beautiful places in the world. Good food, excellent company and crew, and to be part of it, not just a passenger. Oh and did I mention the Dolphins!
Magic!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charismatic Yacht”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a wonderful day on Lion. The crew members, especially the skipper, handled the yacht and her crew with good humour and consummate professionalism. Lion is a thoroughbred machine and does make some demands on those sailing her. Previous sailing experience is not necessary but 'guests' should be able bodied.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Explore- Sail Lion New Zealand also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing