We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartment”
Review of Sanctuary Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary Palms
Ranked #10 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I stayed 5 nights here. The place was beautiful, we wanted privacy and that's what we got. The only thing I would change if we came here again is to get a suite with a balcony. When we arrived we had 2 bottles of complementary wine, beer, fruit, cereal, strawberries cheese etc... even port! They took care of everything you needed on the first few days if you really wanted just to stay in.

Room Tip: If you want total privacy choose the waterfall suite, if you want a balcony ask for another suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at Sanctuary Palms for 5 nights. The apartment was beautiful, very well appointed with lots of space, quality fittings, tasteful Decor and magnificent view over the Bay. Attention to detail with a beautiful welcome basket and fridge complete with strawberries, cheese and great New Zealand wines. We had a fantastic stay, with lots to do on the Bay and in the surrounding area. Activities for all ages, and a great selection of restaurants and shops only 10mins walk from Sanctuary Palms. We will definitely return to Sanctuary Palms, perfect accommodation and a very enjoyable holiday spot.

Room Tip: ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janelle016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during a four night stay in the bay. I thought the accommodation was immaculate and I absolutely loved the view from the moulin rouge suite. Karen was a fantastic host and it was a lovely touch to have a welcome basket for us on our arrival. I would highly recommend Sanctuary Palms. Clare&Mike Price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarezymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yecla, Spain
Level Contributor
261 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The location was perfect , out of town but close enough for all the attractions. We were booked into The Waterfall Suite which promised panoramic views of the bay. It did not. Whilst the bedroom and ensuite were superbly presented the living area was pokey and at the end of a corridor which was slightly chlostrophobic . The waterfall was not working although they were trying to fix it whilst we were there.
The floor boards above were very creaky so we were able to hear the constant movement of our neighbours above which was somewhat annoying.
Having said all that Karen was most helpful and obliging but we felt hat our suite was not described as accurately as it could have been. We were expecting better views and more living space.

Room Tip: The views are not great and the living room is very small with two arm chairs, a round table with 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed for two nights in the Penthouse Suite, it was absolutely amazing. My boyfriend booked this as a romantic getaway and it was absolutely perfect.
This suite has an beautiful big deck with views down to the wharf in Paihia and across the bay to Russell, just stunning. The apartment consists of a master suite with ensuite including jetted tub. There is also an office and another seperate bathroom. It boasts a huge open lounge/kitchen area with bifolding doors onto the deck. We were greeted with a very yummy breakfast basket and a bottle of wine to celebrate my birthday.
The extras make this stay extra special, beautiful bed/bedding, luxurious robes, candles everywhere and stunning decor.
Sanctuary Palms is not a well known spot, it is definitely a hidden gem and deserves 5 stars. Our host Karen was lovely and took great care of us in making sure we always had everything we needed.
We will back one day to enjoy another stay as this was definitely one to remember.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarragon, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We took the Moulin Rouge suite for a couple of nights. Loved the decor & luxurious surrounds. Views over the bay with a small balcony. The living/dining/kitchen area is spacious and beautifully appointed. Kitchen with everything. Extras included telescope, CDs, dishwasher, chess set, books. The bedding sumptuous. The bathroom is absolutely spectacular. Big double spa, lots of candles, classic tiling & mirrors. Washer & drier. Special thanks to Karen for all the local knowledge and advice. Helped make our stay perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rahji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for anything better!! We were in the penthouse, with it's huge private deck with amazing views over the bay. Very quiet location yet only 5mins walk to town and 7-8mins walk to the wharf (tourist boats etc...)
Everything in the apartment was modern and well looked after, and the manager (Karen) was extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eagles Nest
Eagles Nest
#2 of 14 in Russell
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abri Apartments
Abri Apartments
#1 of 30 in Paihia
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Palms

Property: Sanctuary Palms
Address: 31 Bayview Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Palms 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Palms Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing