We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aarangi Tui Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Sands Seafront Studios(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bella Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlin Court Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$113
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
21
28
13
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
28
13
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsequipped kitchentwo bedroom uniteasy walking distancefree wifigreat locationcleaned dailyshort walkwater pressuretwo night stayplace to staycomfortable bedtwo nightswharfunitsmotelferryhosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Paihia is great, and this place aswell.
Big rooms and great value depending on what you pay.
The flat tv have satellitechannels with discovery and animal planet and the kitchen works well.
Good location and near everything. I would definitely stay at this place again.

The wifi is like in the rest of nz.. But hey it works atleast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for a last-minute weekend break. shortly before Christmas '13. It was recommended to us by friends who have relatives in the trade.

It's in a good location, very close to shops, restaurants and the harbour and everything is within easy walking distance. We'd booked the studio for two nights and the price was extremely reasonable.

The studio was very dated and quite basic, but absolutely spotlessly clean. There wasn't a huge amount of space - particularly in the bathroom - but, since we only really slept there, it was adequate for a two-night stay. The bed was extremely comfortable, without the usual dip in the middle and, as far as comfort in concerned, we slept pretty well. The kitchen area was adequately supplied and, in a nice touch of extra hospitality, we were provided with some fresh milk, to use in our tea/coffee.

The wifi signal is a little hit and miss but, since we were the furthest unit from Reception, I'd been warned to expect that by a previous reviewer.

We didn't have much interaction with the staff, but during that we did have, they were pleasant, polite and welcoming.

Whilst I appreciate it is out of the motel's control, our first night's sleep was badly disturbed by the enormous amount of noise at a house opposite. We were awakened at least 5-6 times by car doors being repeatedly slammed, loud conversations, screaming and what sounded like street races taking place. In fairness, the second night wasn't as noisy - or at least we weren't woken as often - but as we had an early start to the second day, it didn't put us in the best of moods.

If we return to Paihia, we'd certainly consider staying here again as, although the place could do with some redecoration and modernisation, it gives provides excellent value for money and, as far as cleanliness is concerned, could give an operating theatre a run for its money! When it's quiet enough to allow sleep, the bed certainly encouraged it. On reflection, however, I think we'd consider booking a slightly larger unit next time.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the motel, subject to the slight warning about noise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This motel is in a good location and away from the noisy main street. It's old but clean and the bed is comfortable. Great to have some wifi included in the price too. I found it a bit cold because the only form of heating was a fan heater so I wouldn't stay there in winter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athena6629, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Hi, Thanks for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and the free unlimited Wifi. We purchased new heaters for the Aarangi Tui last year and I can only think you were here during the change of season when we hadn't swapped the cooling fans for heaters in the room. Thanks again for your favorable review, we hope your enjoyed your stay in Paihia and all the treats the Bay of Islands has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We had a 2 bedroom unit and found it ideal. Good location close to town, used the free wifi, good beds and efficient staff. Had 3 meals at the RSA which is almost next door, Excellent food and a friendly place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athena6629, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Hi, We are glad you enjoyed the use of our two bedroom family unit, and of course our Wifi. The RSA has an excellent restaurant and being only a minutes walk away is an ideal place to enjoy some good kiwi fare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This is a basic no frills motel, staff are very helpful. It's ticks the boxes two bedroom units, ok kitchen , decent shower and decent sleep quality, and it's very clean.
The down side walls are little thin, we heard everything going on next door as they got up earlier than us.
Wifi is free but further away from the office you are the slower it gets, plus there are only a few free power points.
Location is only a few hundred yards from the front.

Room Tip: Get a room by the reception for good wifi
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freeman5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athena6629, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Hi, Thanks for your review and are glad to hear the positive points of the Aarangi Tui. We feel our location can't be beaten, being only a short flat stroll to town and the wharf, while being away from the busy waterfront road. I am sorry the guests next door disturbed you, unfortunately being a motel where rooms are adjoined this sometimes cannot be avoided. Please note however that one of our policies, which we strongly enforce, is no loud noise or visitors after 10pm. Thanks again, Rochine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews