We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Learning Cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Explore

Explore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Encounter these intelligent and playful mammals up close in their natural environment. You may even get the chance to swim with the dolphins in the warmest waters in New Zealand…
Victoria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Learning Cruise”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

You probably will not swim with the dolphins given the strict guidelines governing such activities, but you will learn a lot and will get as up close with dolphins as is possible and still be dry. Our tour guide gave us a world of information on these sea mammals and we cruised about in a couple of pods as the talk continued over the ship's speakers. It was learning at its best, and although there were some disappointed cruisers, most of us accepted the fact that people in the water with juvenile dolphins present would constitute a threat to the animal's safety.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    26
    11
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Wow this trip was absolutely amazing! Our skipper and Guide were so knowledgeable. We had the opportunity to see so many dolphins and were even lucky enough to get in the water with them 3 times. The first time was the best as the dolphins were just full on wanting to play and swim with us. It was hard to get a photo as they were just sooo close :D. This was a present for our eldests 11th birthday and she absolutely loved it (best gift ever!!). The water and the day were really warm. If you have the opportunity to go to the BOI this should be on your must do list!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyayde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Sadly no dolphin swim for us but that's the rules and nothing to do with the operator. Did have some great close up viewing though. The crew were professional, very knowledgeable and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Peterpeterpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Fantastic trip”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a must do. Friendly staff, great boat, interesting commentary, lots of dolphins close up, drive through the hole in the rock, wonderful activity.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Swim with a dolphin ”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We went on a beautiful summers day in Paihia along with what seemed like a full boat load of others (about 40). We found one pod quickly but it had a baby so no swimming. We then spent 2 hours looking for more and happened to come across one dolphin hiding in a sheltered bay, so they got us to change and quickly get into the water. My what a shock the water was, it was absolutely freezing! In the end only about 12 people stayed in the water while we all watched from the boat. It was entertaining to watch the dolphin pop up miles from the swimmers then the captain ordering everyone to swim across, by the time they had done that he had popped up elsewhere. All in all though, a good experience with a knowledgable and friendly crew. Would go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank ScottShadbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Explore also viewed

 

Been to Explore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing