We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunseeker Cottages Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunseeker Cottages Motel
Ranked #17 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Fabulous holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just spent a wonderful week at Sunseekers cottage. They provided everything we needed, we found them cozy, clean and warm (even if the weather wasn't great). We were met by Jill who gave us a warm welcome and explained everything we could do in the area. We would be happy to return for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Della35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here because of the good reviews and were not disappointed. The units are very well equipped and spacious and there is a very nice looking play area for children. We had a delightful balcony overlooking the countryside and the owner, Jill, was very friendly and welcoming. The motel is only a short drive inland from Paihia, but you do definitely need a car. A supermarket is very close and there is a great deal to do in the area. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickandRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We spent 3 nights in Sunseeker cottage, and enjoyed every single aspect of it - the warm welcome, the accessorized units (with additional common area stocked with all the extras), the cozy albeit spacious rooms, and the location (minutes away from attractions and services).

Excellent choice for couples!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Assaf Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillpaihia, Owner at Sunseeker Cottages Motel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi - Thanks for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at Sunseeker. I would like to wish you all the best for your future and your future travels. Kind Regards Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed for a week here and found it extremely comfortable.
We were met by the friendly owner and given details of all the local attractions.
The units were superbly equipped with much more and much better appliances, crockery and equipment than the normal units.
The four 2 bedroom units are all separate so no issues with noisy neighbours. Apparently one of the units is kitted out so you can bring a pet.
We managed to leave something behind and the owner tracked it down and posted it back, no charge. Nothing was too much trouble.
We would absolutely book it again if we were up that way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillpaihia, Owner at Sunseeker Cottages Motel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks so much for your very kind review. On the things I love about this business is that I get to meet great people. Love to have you stay again. Kind Regards Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Booked here due to good reviews and wasn't disappointed. It was just as described by previous reviewers, clean and comfortable and really great value for money. Our family of 3 was very comfortable in the warm two bedroom cottage. Lovely views over rural Haruru and only a few minutes drive from Paihia

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked 3 of the 4 cottages over the Easter period for a family holiday and they were perfect. The children were able to go between cottages and the adjacent play ground area in a safe enviroment. The family discussed the accommodation and none of us could find fault. We found the cottages clean and containing everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing. Each evening we got together - 8 adults and 4 children for dinner in one of the units and we did not feel it was crowded. The easter eggs in each unit when we arrived was a great finishing touch to a very enjoyable weekend. Thank you Jill.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed for a week at Sunseeker Cottages. We were glad to be in the quiet location of Haruru Falls just 5 minutes from Paihia.

If you have a car it's easy travelling distance to Russell (on the ferry), Waitangi Treaty Grounds and Kerikeri. There are plenty of places to eat in Paihia. We tried the RSA and had a great meal at a reasonable price.

The cottages are clean and well equipped with everything you need for self-catering - full size oven, microwave, fridge/freezer and BBQ on the deck. There is also a laundry with a fair priced honesty system for washing and drying. The only negatives for us were the mattress was only OK and we would have liked air-conditioning on the first two warmer nights. Would be quite hot in summer.

Jill, the host, was super helpful with ideas for things to do in the area. Thanks Jill for the tip about the fresh oysters on the road to Russell ($12 for a dozen and delicious!) and also the Pizza Barn in Waipu (just off the main highway half-way between Paihia and Auckland) - great pizzas and what an interesting building (used to be the post office) with all the memorabilia.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scopes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
1.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aarangi Tui Motel
Aarangi Tui Motel
#36 of 44 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunseeker Cottages Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunseeker Cottages Motel

Property: Sunseeker Cottages Motel
Address: 4 Ash Grove Circle | Haruru Falls Paihia, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunseeker Cottages Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 separate private self-contained Lockwood cottages. Ideal for a long & short stays. Two bedroom, queen in one bedroom, and two singles in smaller second bedroom. Sleeps 2 - 4 Full kitchens, incl Fridge/Freezer, and full oven. 32" LCD TV, CD, DVD Large private outdoor deck with rural veiws. Outdoor table and chairs and BBQ. Great for families. Children's playground. No daily maid service. Private/Quite and set well back from road on large park like grounds ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunseeker Cottages Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing