We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and relaxing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2012

What an amazing place. My girlfriend and I stayed here just after a new year. We dont normally stay in b and b's but due to the amount of them in the area we tried this one and we werent dissapointed. The rooms were detached from the house so you had your own space. Waking up to the view from river room was amazing in itself. Roger and Jan made us feel like we friends who had come to stay for a couple of days, going out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The only thing I could pick was that the traffic noise does get up a bit during the day but you cant hear anything at night. I guess it was also peak holiday season too. Location was great too. Far enough out but close enough to town. I high reccomend anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: Go for the river view room if you can get it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krispy112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for River Retreat Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in the Garden room for my wife's birthday visit to Paihia and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very well appointed and Roger and Jan open their gorgeous home for a fantastic breakfast each morning and lovely chat. They are excellent hosts and could not do more to make us feel welcome and help point us to interesting local attractions. River Run is ideally suited to access Paihia or to head north and visit KeriKeri and beyond for day trips. We would certainly recommend this B&B for your next stay north.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Hi, just got back from a fantastic weekend in the BOI, great weather for labour weekend every day (for a change) and good cos' we were touring on motorbikes. Just wanted to put a word in for the accommodation that we stayed at which was River Run Retreat, absolutely great. They do have website but I can tell you that we (2 couples) loved the place it really is a bit of luxury and the hosts are really nice and friendly, couldn't do enough to help us. It's not in central Paihia, but not too far out, maybe 7 - 10 minutes, so tranquil too. We woke in the morning to the sounds of birds and the sheep from across the river, magic!!. If you're looking for a special spot to stay you won't go wrong with this place. The main house is seperate from the guest accommodation, but you go through a covered walkway to the house for breakfast, just in case the weather isn't great. Plenty of parking too

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hagar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katewomanBeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.3 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
2.8 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#4 of 20 in Paihia
246 reviews
4.1 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 838 Puketona Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand (Formerly RiverRun Retreat)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: £113 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Retreat Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy our magical riverside setting, private and tranquil, close to shop, restaurants and beaches a wonderful base to see all that the north has to offer. Look forward to seeing you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your River Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Retreat Bed & Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing