We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Marlin House B&B was our final accommodation in New Zealand during our two weeks road trip. And it was the most appropriate closing! Fabulous B&B, in a quiet location amongst trees on the hillside overlooking the Bay of Islands. We had requested the green room which was spacious, with a dinner table and a couch and antique furniture. The bathroom was large, comfortable and squeaky clean. Roger and Lynda are wonderful hosts and extremely friendly. The breakfast offered was both continental and cooked and was delicious. On Christmas Eve tropical cyclone Evan hit the area with rain and strong winds thus cancelling our celebratory plans. Lynda and Roger, hosted us and another guest to a wonderful get together with sparkling wine and figure food and we had a memorable time that we will always cherish. Thank you to Lynda and Roger for a wonderful stay. Marlin House is a fantastic B&B in Paihia and is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Marlin House was our first real stay (B&B) on our trip hrough NZ after arriving in Auckland the day before. We couldn't have had a better start! Lynda and Roger made our short visit to the Bay of Islands very special. They were very friendly, warm and for us "never-been-this-far-away-from-home-people" very helpful! They gave us very good advise about what to do with our little time we had to spent in Pahia, although we could have have spent much more time just chatting with them.

The rooms were very tidy, and a nice place to relax in the evening after a very busy day. The breakfest was superb (the best we had on our trip!), especially the day we took off. Roger made us a very large portion of scrambled eggs because "we had to eat good to be prepared for the long drive".

Lynda and Roger: thanx for the very warm welcome to New Zealand!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob_en_Hendrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Wonderful quiet location on hillside above Paihia waterfront, with fabulous view over Bay of Islands - the room and bathroom were spacious & comfortable - off road secure parking - breakfast was excellent, whatever you wanted - easy walking to beach restaurants and activities - Lynda & Roger are excellent hosts and gave valuable local advice - there is a lot of motel accommodation in the area, but this is hugely better for around the same price .....so!....

Room Tip: Green room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyseeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We spent 3 nights with Lynda and Roger over New Year, and it was wonderful. The room was huge - really spacious and in a standalone unit so you have lots of privacy. Immaculate presentation of the room as well, very comfortable and everything was provided that you could ask for. Lovely hosts - we felt like family and were honoured when Lynda and Roger asked us up on to the top terrace to watch the fireworks at midnight! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will never stay anywhere but here when in the area. Nothing was too much trouble and we were very reluctant to leave as you made our stay in NZ very special. Great breakfast, great chat and a gorgeous setting, very close to the beach and centre in a beautiful quiet resort. We will return!! Thanks again for a great stay! Lorraine & Andy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Another long overdue review -- life happens! But the Marlin House had to be one of the most beautiful and delightful places that we had stayed at anywhere. Roger ad Lynda, our host and hostess should get a medal for being the perfect hosts. From the first contact with them in the booking process to our good-byes, they were amazing -- like family --the family you really like!
The location up a hill just off the main road of delightful Paihia, but the walk is not bad at all. But when you are up there in your room or on the terrace outside your room or at the breakfast table on the terrace, the views of the gorgeous Bay of Islands is magnificent -- as it the lush greenery and vegetation at Marlin House and all around.
The meals were superb and the atmosphere could not have been better.
Our room was beautiful and the whole experience was one that we will never forget.
Yes we would go back! Yes we would recommend this gem! Yes we would want to stay a lot longer. This is pure charm. Thanks Roger and Lynda!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This wasn't our first time as guests at Marlin House B&B, but our second stay there.

Having a break from the cold of the south Island and inparticular the Earthquakes of Christchurch. What a welcome relief to visit the warmth of the top of the North Island.

Roger and Lynda deserve some words of appreciation for all the passion and dedication they've conveyed in their B&B.
They're very nice people and make perfect hosts: welcoming, thoughtful, helpful, they make you feel like special guests and do their best in order to make your stay in Paihia as pleasant as possible.

The rooms are very tidy and clean, and Marlin house overall is a cosy and welcoming environment, it feels just like you're at home.

The breakfast is superb, that's what it takes to get off to a good start in the morning before venturing into the township of Paihia and beyond.

Marlin house in my opinion is the ideal place to stay for those visitors who are looking for a friendly and easy-going accommodation providing good quality and professional service.

Keep up the good work Roger and Lynda, and we hope to be your guest again very soon!

Stayed 3 nights July 20th-23rd , traveled with Husband

J Scott


.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a wonderful 4 nights at Marlin House despite the wet weather. We stayed in the Gold room which was beautifully furnished and had great views of the bay. Lynda and Roger are a very hospitable couple and they want you to enjoy yourself and their home.

The B&B is just a couple of minutes walk into town where you can take boat trips all over the region. We had a short hop over to Russell and visited the Pompallier Mission where they show you how pamplets were made and bound. We also took a trip to KeriKeri and visited NZ's earliest trading post at the KeriKeri Mission which includes the oldest wooden house to survive and the unique stone store.

Room Tip: The Gold room is the most spacious and has great views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handyReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: £108 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marlin House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin House is a comfortable colonial-style home set in a subtropical garden with ample off-street parking. Substantial decks provide stunning views of the Bay of Islands. An easy four minute walk to the beach, wharf, cafes, restaurants and central Paihia. Marlin House offers three generous sized suites, each with a private entrance, a sitting and dining area, en suite, fridge, microwave and TV. Tea and coffee making facilities are also provided. With Roger's restaurant/chef experience we look forward to treating you to a special breakfast which will ensure a great start to the day's many activities this region has to offer. Tailored excursions or activities can be organized. Lunch hampers and evening meals are available by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marlin House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing