We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Sands Seafront Studios(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bella Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlin Court Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
111
14
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
14
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa suiteb bswordfishand freshly squeezed orange juicebreakfast cookedhuge decknew zealandgreat hostsbeautiful breakfastroom was large and comfortablesteep slopeother guestsnext morninglovely housebedroom apartmentconvenient locationshort walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

What a nice time I spent with Lynda & Roger! They are just perfect hosts and make you feel at home. The weather was not that good, so I had to stay inside for breakfast, but was treated like a queen. The bedroom and living room made sort of a little apartment, where I felt very at home. I can highly recommend the Marlin House B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in the green room January 2013. As Bay of Islands was our first port of call on our North Island holiday, my only concern was that this magnificent accommodation made our following lodgings elsewhere seem 2nd rate. The green room is self contained, spacious, with private entry and balcony. It has superb tree lined views across Paihia and the bay. The furnishings are all top quality, comfy king bed. Breakfast on the deck is sumptious and healthy fare which starts every day superbly. Marlin House is a grand timber residence positioned just a short stroll down the hill to the tourist friendly town. There are ample waterfront restaurants, shops, the Russell ferry and the various tour operators are all in a short walk distance. The hosts happily assisted in any way possible. If you are staying in the bay of islands, you will be delighted with Marlin House.

Room Tip: Green room is self contained and private, built as an addition to the main residence around 2001. IMO worth the extra dollars.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelabit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Marlin House B&B was our final accommodation in New Zealand during our two weeks road trip. And it was the most appropriate closing! Fabulous B&B, in a quiet location amongst trees on the hillside overlooking the Bay of Islands. We had requested the green room which was spacious, with a dinner table and a couch and antique furniture. The bathroom was large, comfortable and squeaky clean. Roger and Lynda are wonderful hosts and extremely friendly. The breakfast offered was both continental and cooked and was delicious. On Christmas Eve tropical cyclone Evan hit the area with rain and strong winds thus cancelling our celebratory plans. Lynda and Roger, hosted us and another guest to a wonderful get together with sparkling wine and figure food and we had a memorable time that we will always cherish. Thank you to Lynda and Roger for a wonderful stay. Marlin House is a fantastic B&B in Paihia and is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Marlin House was our first real stay (B&B) on our trip hrough NZ after arriving in Auckland the day before. We couldn't have had a better start! Lynda and Roger made our short visit to the Bay of Islands very special. They were very friendly, warm and for us "never-been-this-far-away-from-home-people" very helpful! They gave us very good advise about what to do with our little time we had to spent in Pahia, although we could have have spent much more time just chatting with them.

The rooms were very tidy, and a nice place to relax in the evening after a very busy day. The breakfest was superb (the best we had on our trip!), especially the day we took off. Roger made us a very large portion of scrambled eggs because "we had to eat good to be prepared for the long drive".

Lynda and Roger: thanx for the very warm welcome to New Zealand!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob_en_Hendrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Wonderful quiet location on hillside above Paihia waterfront, with fabulous view over Bay of Islands - the room and bathroom were spacious & comfortable - off road secure parking - breakfast was excellent, whatever you wanted - easy walking to beach restaurants and activities - Lynda & Roger are excellent hosts and gave valuable local advice - there is a lot of motel accommodation in the area, but this is hugely better for around the same price .....so!....

Room Tip: Green room was excellent
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyseeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews