We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craicor Boutique Apartments
Ranked #13 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed this very much. Beautiful room with great view well appointed with everything. Garth was very helpful telling us about all the things to do in Paihia as well as good restaurants. We would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisedoppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Craicor Boutique Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

I could only stay in Craicor one night, but wish I could have stayed more. I was greeted by Garth when I arrived, one of the owners, who was very friendly and went out of his way to help me during my stay. I staying in the 'Tree House' , which was beautiful - tasteful, amazing views, great facilities, and an amazing super massive bed! The property is very close to town - a two minute walk to the beach, a few bars and restaurants, a dairy and a liquor store, and maybe a five-ten minute walk to the main drag in Paihia - but it feels nice and secluded, and very peaceful. Only one tiny downside - I got eaten ALIVE by bugs on the porch, but as I was sitting outside in the bush at night without bug spray, this is entirely my own fault :) No complaints here!

Room Tip: Just stay in the tree house. Its awesome.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seabass N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We hired both of the apartments for a short period in October. They are just lovely, well appointed with everything you need, great views from the decking and lots of lush plants around.
You need to be able to manage a short steep walk up to the apartments (hence the view!) but othwise can't recommend these highly enough. Garth and Anne are great hosts and helpul in every way, and they are keenly priced for a popular area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallyofthesixities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here in Sept 2012 and loved it (highly recommend the 'Tree House'). The views are beautiful and despite being so close to everything the lush gardens and hill side location made us feel like we were in our own little paradise looking over the bay. Our hosts were super helpful when it came to where to go, what to see and what to do. The bed was super comfy and the atmosphere very relaxed. Be prepared for a steep driveway and a few steps to the accommodation, but well worth every bit.

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the rooms except the 'Tree House' so can only comment on that one...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_and_Cliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Tree House is situated in a big garden, in a quiet location. It is a large timber-framed & clad lodge built on timber piles into a steep heavily wooded hillside, with a view of the sea from a large front balcony containing a table and 2 chairs. There are a number of steps to climb to access the property and this accommodation would probably not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

The well appointed kitchenette contains a small oven/grill, 2 ceramic hobs, dishwasher, fridge, sink & draining board, microwave and all the usual accompaniments. There is a dining table with two chairs, side table/desk, nest of tables, two easy chairs with footstools, small flat screen TV, wardrobe space and a large bed. Also provided is a small screen, iron, ironing board, clothes airer, beach towels and robes.

The accommodation appeared clean although the dishwasher had not been emptied since the previous occupants had used it and our rubbish was not removed whilst we were there – although this was only two nights it was the only place we had stayed in NZ where rubbish had not been removed after one night. The bed was very comfortable but the shower wasn’t very powerful. It was the most expensive accommodation we stayed in on the North Island and breakfast would have been extra. This may or may not be due to the fact it is in Paihia.

I spoke to the occupants of the Garden Suite whilst we were there and I thought their view wasn’t quite as good as the Tree House view (minimal difference), but the Tree House balcony only gets the sun until about 3pm (February). As the Garden Suite is higher than the Tree House, they maybe get more sun.

We did enjoy our stay and were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Arrived in January for a 3 night stay in the garden suite. We were amazed at the space and seclusion of the place. It is set back from the town on the hillside overlooking the bay in a lovely garden with lots of birdlife. It was here we heard our first Tui and saw our first Fantail. The walk into town is only about 10 minutes which was fine for us.Our host Garth was very helpful and friendly . Bathroom was a bit dated compared to the rest of the apartment but it wasn't a problem. Beach towels were also provided, the kitchen was very well equipped and it included a washing machine. We had continental breakfast which was delivered to our room the night before so we could enjoy it at whatever time we wanted. It was lovely to sit on the decking with a drink soaking up the view. We thought it was really good value for money, very comfortable and would definitely stay there again. Enjoyed Pahia and would have liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: We thought the garden suite looked to have a better view than the tree house which is lower down and...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gouldsDerby_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

The Tree House is a great chalet separate from the main house but situated in a quiet corner of the hosts’ beautiful garden, on a hill overlooking the bay of Paihia (in the Bay of Islands). Best features: super king-sized bed with bay view, big deck also overlooking the bay and loads of trees, fully equipped kitchen (including freshly-caught fish from the host on occasion), free wi-fi (but not directly in the flat - you have to go into the garden). The big room can be divided with a nice partition into bedroom and sitting room, the good equipped bathroom is separate. Garth, the very friendly owner, helps with any questions you might have, and is just a short distance away in the main house. Nevertheless you are quite undisturbed (even if the second apartment - the Garden Suite - is occupied) - and feel as if you are in your own little house. Walk distance to Paihia center around 10 min. We stayed there for three weeks and couldn’t have had a better place as a base for our time in Northland. We really felt at home and it was hard to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
5.2 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
1.9 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craicor Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craicor Boutique Apartments

Address: 49 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: £79 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craicor Boutique Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, sunny and central location. The Garden Suite and Tree House are self-contained modern apartments in a garden setting with trees, native birds and sea views. Each apartment has en suite bathroom, fully equipped kitchen for self-catering, king bed, TV DVD, insect screens, free WiFi and is decorated to reflect the natural colours of the surroundings. Off street parking. 5 minute walk to waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craicor Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craicor Boutique Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing