We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Experience!”
Review of Blue Sea Charters

Blue Sea Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: FISH WITH THE EXPERTS- Graham Henry the AB's Coach does!* Professional tuition* All bait/rods provided * Purpose built boats- Skipper Jim & Splash* Cater for groups of all sizes* Operating year round* All fish filleted to suit* Clean toilet facilities on boardFish for tasty snapper, deep sea marlin, tuna, shark or the great fighting king fish.
Sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Experience!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

As we had a spare day we decided to book a fishing trip with Blue Sea Charters. It was a new experience, so explained that we were novices at fishing...not a problem!

They headed out to a favourite fishing spot, but nothing happening there! In all, they tried three different places and in the final area we had some success, each couple catching snapper for dinner that night.
Great service, baited our lines for us, gave advice when hauling in our catch and very impressed that they threw back fish considered too small even though they would have been "legal". The fish were filleted on way back into port ready to be cooked that night!

Tea or coffee not offered however we did not miss that as we were too busy to realise!

People in previous reviews complained about not catching enough fish......isn't that the enjoyment of fishing, waiting for that elusive bite!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lind-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Day Out in the Bay”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I have fished on this boat a number of times, and had many unforgettable experiences from hooking & playing Bronze Whalers to hooking & Landing Massive Kingis, whilst this last trip we hit a day when the Big Snapper were not about we still managed to pull in a number of fish and had a feast of smoked fish for dinner that night as shown in the pic attached. We always take along a number of ales to make for a great day fishing. Thoroughly Recommend. Many thanks guys.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank emw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good day out fishing!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Beautiful sunny day out on the water, the skipper Shane was so good to deal with and we caught some good size snapper! Great service from owner who met us at the boat and sent us on our way, recommend to all as a great day out in the Bay.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Friendly people. Easy to deal with Nice to have your hook baited instantly. We caught one legal snapper in our time but we given another caught by the staff. Please be aware you must bring your own water and food/tea/coffee

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GSWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Maybe OK for tourists as a day out but not Kiwi fishos who want to catch fish.”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

All the locals we talked to recommended this trip but we were dissapointed . Not one good sized snapper was caught, only kawahi , on our four hour trip. The skipper parked up and didn't shift, even though we were only catching juvenile snapper. A one size circle hook suits all , and pilchard that fell off the hook, was supplied. Once the box of pilchards is used, fishing stops. The rods and reels had seen better days. No tea or coffee was offered.
The boat has a wide stable deck for fishing , but takes half an hour to get to the fishing ground. The skipper wanted to get back to base on time, even though we'd left shore late and had no other charters for the afternoon, supposedly to fillet the fish within the time frame. A frustrating experience when I expected so much more.. a keeper snapper at least.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank gabbienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Sea Charters also viewed

 

Been to Blue Sea Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing