We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay of Islands Beach House
Ranked #12 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is the place to stay rather than in Pahia.

Our hosts were very welcoming and showed us the amenities which included the use of kayaks etc.

The situation is outstanding, with wonderful views over the Bay of Islands. Very large balcony with bbq.,large table with 4 chairs, plants and clear glass rail so our views when sitting were uninterrupted. (It could be so easy to sit here a lot rather than exploring)

The kitchen has everything one needs and what a view when cooking.

Very comfortable master bedroom and excellent bathroom. There is a second twin room which our friends used for a couple of days but unfortunately the guests above were very noisy, they seemed to spend their time rearranging furniture.

The open plan sitting/dining area also had surround views, large flat screen TV DVD etc.

We would love to stay here again.

For some they may find the 3 tier switch back drive to park somewhat daunting but you soon get used to it. The tiered steps to the beach did not prove a problem to us, and the beach was so private. You can also walk along the beach at low tide to Pahia main street, restaurants etc. which we did many times, easy ferry crossing from there to Russell but ultimately we were so glad we had chosen this property rather than staying in the centre of Pahia.

Would recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2hopeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    6
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

A house on the hill with 3 apartments. Our Very comfortable 2 bedroom apart ment. Has full kitchen facilities .BBQ on the balcony as well.
A view to die for.
Main bedroom opens out onto long balcony over the most picturest bay of aqua waters boats and the cruise liners that come in regularly.

Located on a hill about 30 steps down to beach.
Free Use of the kayaks as well .
20 minute walk around rocks into town.
Loved the place 5 star.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SUZIE8171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This place is amazing. The view, incredible. The apartments, just perfect. And the hosts, super-friendly.

We had the Penthouse, which I recommend if you are traveling as a couple. You will love the bath tub and the sauna. There is a small, but great kitchen to cook youown meals. You can relax on your private patio, and enjoy the wonderful view of the Bay of Islands. Walk down to the beach, take a kayak, go around the islands...

The location of the beach house is perfect: on Sullivans beach, outside of the busy tourist town of Paihia... But you can still walk to town through the coastline, especially during low tide. We never used our car when we were staying there.

We even walked to Waitangi treaty grounds, and also took the ferry to Russel from Paihia. And, we really enjoyed our dolphin cruise.

The steep hill to get down to the beach house may look frightening at the beginning, but you get used to it.

This was the perfect start for our honeymoon trip in New Zealand, and we will definitely go back to Bay of Islands Beach House when we come back.

We miss the sound of the birds, and the waves on the beach.

Room Tip: Choose the Penthouse if you are traveling as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vins-et-Voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took the kids (16, 14 & 12) to NZ for 10 days, and were lucky enough to choose this fabulous house for 3 nights as accommodation. It was more of a home than a holiday rental. Every utensil you could possibly need was in the well appointed, modern kitchen. All linen and beds were luxurious...and the bathrooms were amazing. Theo (our host) was very welcoming, and helpfully booked a dolphin tour for us. We had some fun playing board games found in the cupboards. Last of all, the views out the floor to ceiling windows were stunning! Stay here, you will love it!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We spent five wonderful days in the penthouse apartment over Christmas 2013.
Facilities are excellent and the views over the Bay of Islands are stunning.
Theo made us very welcome and gave good advice re local restaurants, shops etc.
Very quiet spot in a busy resort with direct access to an almost private beach.
Great to lie in the spar bath with fantastic views over the bay, including dolphins.

Room Tip: Penthouse has great views and its own sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Theo's Beachfront apartments are amazing. The beach is just down bleow the house and the view is spectacular. We wanted some peace and quiet and this spot was perfect. the house is beautifully appointed and the set-up was faultless. The Paihia shops and cafes etc are only five minutes away but the house is secluded.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My husband and I were looking for a special spot to relax yet still be close enough to see the Northland sites. This is the perfect spot. Morning walks on the beach for me and saunas for my husband. The sunrises are to die for. The owner, Theo and his beagle companion Hero are the best. Very helpful but gives you your space. We hope to return one day...

Room Tip: Upper penthouse has the best views and is very private. Next best would be the larger apt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.0 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 20 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Islands Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Beach House

Property: Bay of Islands Beach House
Address: 16B Sullivans Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay of Islands Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay of Islands Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Beach House Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing