We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the things we were looking for in our holiday accommodation”
Review of Busby Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Busby Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Busby Manor was the perfect setting for our family holiday to Paihia. Located close to the town centre and just across the road from a fantastic, child-friendly beach. The units are small but very clean with newly fitted bathroom and kitchen facilities, and contained everything we could want. A old fashioned but very serviceable cot was provided as well and extra sets of cot sheets and blankets in case we need to change the bedding. The staff are very friendly and helpful with advice about places to go and things to do locally, even finding a hot water bottle for us to soothe a sore tummy! We were grateful to be placed in a downstairs unit located away from other guests so that we didn't have to worry about our pre-schoolers' noise disturbing anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Be careful if you advance book with tnis accomodation. A booking was made in April when checked in June the reservation had been changed from a ground floor unit to an upstairs unit not good if disabled. Reservation was changed with an appology however 1 week prior to arrival in September the booking was moved to a totally different facility in Paihia. :-(

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank RodH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Very centrally placed in Paihia and within easy walking distance of the town itself with its restaurants, shops and the beach was across the road. View of the beach and sea from our balcony.
Some money has been spent on updating the unit. The bathroom and kitchen looked newly fitted. Everything you could want in the kitchen was available. One plug in radiator heater and one small fan heater, together with electric blankets actually were enough to keep us warm for the week we were visiting. The curtains and bed covers looked new.
However, there is no extractor fan in the bathroom which meant that we had to have the bathroom windows open pretty much all the time to let the condensation out.
The beds weren't very firm and the sofa was also quite uncomfortable.
There is Wifi available but you do have to pay for it. We opted for the $45.00 for 7 days use but the 1GB limit showed as being used. When I mentioned this to the office staff, they were kind enough to refund the $45.00.I found the office staff very friendly and knowledgeable.
Also, the walls are pretty thin. There were some very noisy occupants in the next unit that had an "incident" at 5.00am one day and we were kept awake till 6.30am. Having said that, they were moved and we were not disturbed after they moved.
There was a note asking for all used linen, towels etc to be placed in the laundry bag supplied and for all rubbish to be put in outside bins etc. I didn't really mind but I don't think that this is something that International visitors would appreciate. We have certainly never had to do it at other RCI resorts we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Beautiful Paihia! The accomodation is fine but not really luxury. No dishwasher, no LCD TV, heating only by wee fan heater, coin operated facilities, payment for equipment. Internet access very expensive. But central and adaquete.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lantsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We enjoyed our holiday in Paihia, but were very disappointed in the standard of the resort. It is a wonderful location, right in the centre of Paihia, and walking distance to lots of things to do. The staff were friendly and helpful. We ended up in a one-bedroom unit downstairs (Unit C) after agreeing to swap rooms so another family could stay together and were told that "this room is a bit nicer than the upstairs ones". We found a very old unit, and a very, very tiny space. The unit layout was crazy eg to get to the toilet from the bedroom you have to go through the lounge area, dining area, and kitchen to get to the bathroom. The room is apparently suitable for 4 people, but I think it would be a terribly cramped, uncomfortable holiday with 4 people in this unit. The furnishings were clean, but very old. The bathroom had a mouldy, toilet smell that didn't seem to go away. The resort really needs to be renovated and modernised - furnishings (doonas rather than a blanket and a bedspread) and furniture (time for a flat screen tv) could be improved for not a huge cost.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had a very comfortable weeks stay on a ground floor unit. Although the decor was a bit dated, it was clean and tidy and comfortable for two. There is a large swimming pool with separate spa pool on site, although we chose to walk along the beach for a romantic stroll each night.
The location is excellent with the beach directly across the road and within walking distance to the shops and eateries.
Busby Manor is a great base to get out for day trips to see what the Bay of Islands has to offer like the Waitangi Grounds, The Hole in the Rock, Cape Regina, Tane Mahuta and more.
The staff were friendly and helpful and we have no hesitation in recommending this establishment.
It is suitable for couples and families.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The resort was beautifully maintained and appointed.
The location was just great, close to local beaches, restaurants and amenities.
The staff were pleasant, obliging and helpful.
Paihia is a lovely location with lots of things to do.
Fishermen are also well catered for with lots of fishing charters.
There is a vey good ferry service to Russell which is worth a day visit, with lunch at the Duke of Wellington hotel. A trip on the tour bus around town is also well worth a try.

Thoroughly recommend Paihia as a tourist destination.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PedroNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Busby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Busby Manor

Address: 34 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Hotel Class:3 star — Busby Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Busby Manor Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing