We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longhouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great location as a base to explore Paihia, Waitangi and the Bay of Islands, excellent, spotless accommodation in a scenic location, and extremely helpful hosts,who even gave us lifts when our car broke down! Great home made breakfasts, too.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review,It is always a great treat for us to catch up with our guest's who have lived in the same cities that we have in the UK. it is all part of our service to help with any problems that may come along, hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

We rolled into a bustling Paihia without a place to stay and Longhouse was one of the offerings at iSite. Great choice! Mike and John were excellent, welcoming hosts with a big, comfortable king bed and a quiet balcony to watch the stars. They had good recommendations for things to do, offered good company if we wanted it, and we did enoy a glass of wine with them at night and an amazing home cooked high street restaurant quality breakfast in the morning on great English china. As we pulled out after breakfast, both hosts were there to wave us on our way. A most delightful stay - highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank OrebudJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Hi Guys .... Thanks for your comments. It was great having you here and just a shame you could not stay longer. We hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand is enjoyable and we hope that you will make it back again soon. Hope all your plans go well for Oregon .. Once again it was a pleasure looking after you and safe travels ... Mike and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Excellent B&B with terrific hosts John & Mike. Superb room (King), wonderful and spotless facilities run by a couple who are ever willing to ensure a memorable stay. Food was outstanding (both the breakfasts and BBQ) and our visit to the area became more of a stay with good friends. Our one regret, both for the B&B and Bay of Islands, was that we didn't have the opportunity to stay longer. WIll definitely stay here again when we visit next and thoroughly recommend it to others!

Room Tip: For space the King room cannot be beaten, although the Queen room is also very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thanks for your review. We try to make our guests stay at Longhouse like a home away from home. So pleased you liked the king room. We look forward to your return to NZ and especially to the Bay Of Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Longhouse B and B, warm welcome, the room was spacious and clean, The location is great - nesteled in the bush,only few minutes by car from Paihia. Great homemade breakfast! I will come again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ..... Thank you for the comments and we both look forward to welcoming you back to Longhouse in the future ... John and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The Longhouse is a beautiful and clean B&B in Paihia. John and Mike are very friendly hosts and John's breakfast is amazing, especially his homemade muesli.
You will find all amanities, you need and can relax on a sunny deck outside.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Lioba W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We were made to feel welcome from the start - a beer and a glass of wine helped! The room was large and the bed comfortable. If the weather had been kinder we would have made more use of the deck. The breakfasts were delicious and substantial. What really made the difference though was the way that John and Mike wanted us to enjoy our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them - John even e us into Paihia to catch a cruise so that we could leave our car with our luggage in it at the Longhouse. I would thoroughly recommend the Longhouse and I am sure we will be back there next time we go to New Zealand.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Between Paihia and Haruru falls, a secluded peaceful place to stay. Spotless super comfy room, stunning sleep quality, this place is definitely a good choice. Mike will do anything to put you at ease and help you to sort what to visit in the region. Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerisesbanane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased that you found our King Room comfortable and had an enjoyable stay at Longhouse. Should you ever return to New Zealand we would look forward to welcoming you back to Longhouse in the beautiful Bay Of Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
468 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
963 reviews
2.2 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#4 of 21 in Paihia
250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3 Kaipatiki Rise | Haruru, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: £95 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Longhouse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful spot in the Bay of Islands, Longhouse is an idyllic place to stay to relax and unwind. We are just 3 km from bustling Paihia. Two minutes to the amazing Haruru Falls and only ten minutes to Kerikeri. The King room with en-suite, King Size bed (can be made into a twin) is situated at one end of the house for privacy that has its own balcony and entrance. The Queen Room with En-Suite is situated at the opposite end of the house with own entrance and balcony adjoining to the main deck area. Delicious Full English or Continental Breakfasts are included in the room prices. Dinner is also available by prior arrangement. A two minute drive to Paihia to enjoy your Island Boat Trips, Russell, Waitangi Treaty Grounds and the local Golf Course or just to relax on the local beach. With all this on your doorstep come and join us at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. You won’t regret it. Your hosts John and Mike will look forward to welcoming guests to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Longhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longhouse Bed And Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing