We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for what it was”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A very nice greeting was received upon our arrival at the hotel. When we checked in our room was still being cleaned - our problem as we were a bit early. The lovely cleaner offered to change us to the next door room, however upon inspection we asked if we could be changed to a room with a balcony (both being smokers it was easier than having to leave the room everytime one of us required a quick puff!) This was not a problem and that was sorted inmediately (and to our surprise once we had come back from a bit of a drive around Paihia an ashtray had been thoughfully placed on our outside table! (nice touch). The hotel was perfectly adequate - not good, not bad, just adequate. The breakfast (which was included) was a standard cooked breakfast, again nothing out of the ordinary - however for good value for money, a friendly attitude, and proximity to the waterfront it was perfect for us and prob would be for you too...

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank kiwiactrss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our OAT (Overseas Adventure Travel) group of 8 stayed here for a 3 night pre-trip. Buildings of the resort are spread out on the property. I shared a room in the third building on the hill behind the lobby and restaurant. The weather was a little too chilly to use the pool, but the spa was definitely appreciated after long hikes. Reasonable WiFi access available. Breakfasts were very good, choice of egg styles and also continental breakfast. Resort's restaurant offered a "cook your own meat on Hot Lava Rock" dinner. I chose lamb -- it was divine!

(My luggage did not make the flight from LAX-AKL. Stuart, the owner of the resort, and Sue, our OAT tour guide, made constant calls to Qantas to get the latest news and my bag arrived by the second evening.)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thannaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Whilst the room was in need of refurbishing the welcome we received on arrival was a great start to the holiday. Management kindly helped to reunite us with our baggage which did not arrive with us when our plane landed in Auckland. The Hotel was conveniently located within walking distance of the wharf and Ferries to Russell. Cooked breakfast was more than adequate. We wished we had more time at the resort to enjoy a drink near the pool which was a superb setting and would be particularly nice in the morning to early afternoon. All in all we think that Cam from Self Drive Holidays NZ made another good choice when organising this accomodation for us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNZwithJARs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Spent the weekend in the winter-less north.
Great room... clean and well appointed.
Friendly staff at the check in and check out...
Great location, short walk into town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otagopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

The owner Stuart was very friendly and helpful. He recommended a Volcanic Stonegrill Hotrock meal at the hotel's restaurant which was great fun. We stayed in a Superior room which was clean and roomy. Fantastic view also from the window. The swimming pool was also lovely and very uncrowded. Fantastic location as well.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWatts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We recently stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Upon on our arrival we received an unexpected room upgrade and thorughout our stay we were impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, in particular the owners, who were always on hand to answer any queries and help with any special requests. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenelopePLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Good location close to restaurants, bars, beach. Good facilities - the pool area is very inviting and relaxing. The staff are helpful and happy. The rooms are quite spacious and appeared clean.

My husband, my teenage daughter, and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. We originally booked a large room that has a door between the bedroom and lounge (with a bed in lounge for our daughter), however when we arrived this was unavailable so the owners put us in two adjoining rooms (not inter-connecting). They were kind enough to charge us the same rate as the one large room, however for our future visits we will request two adjoining rooms as my daughter really enjoyed the peace and freedom (and so did we!).

This is a 3. 5-star hotel, as is reflected in the prices. The decor is a bit tired and dated and the lobby could certainly benefit from some new furniture and carpet but overall I was pleasantly surprised by the grounds and pool area. There are a lot of trees and plants which gives a resort feel. There are central gardens in between the two main accommodation blocks which give privacy and the bonus of additional outdoor seating areas.

The pool is large and kidney shaped with plants and rocks around it, so quite tropical looking. There is also a spa and sauna. The bar adjoins the pool area - although the bar is not physically open all day, the owners are very obliging and you just have to ask for drinks whenever you want them.

We did not eat there as there were many other choices nearby.

The bedrooms are of a good size, with tea/coffee making facilities only, and seemed clean. The ground floor rooms having their own little terrace area.

The beach is about 2 minutes slow walk away, and there are a few restaurants and bars on the same street as the hotel. If you walk towards town (about 8 minute slow walk) you will encounter many more food and drink choices on your way.

Overall, I found this hotel to be very relaxing and friendly. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZValentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
0.4 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel

Address: 27 Kings Rd., Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: £49 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the tranquil atmosphere of The Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel which has a 3 Star Plus rating and Enviro Bronze Award. Swim in the pool, relax in our spa, enjoy a sauna, work out in our gymnasium. Most of our rooms look over a natural setting of native and subtropical plantings and are available at surprisingly affordable rates. The Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel is located at 27 Kings Road, Paihia, Bay of Islands, New Zealand. It is a short stroll to the ocean and only a 5 minute walk into Paihia town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paihia Pacific Hotel Paihia
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing