We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudest owner ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Rudest owner ever”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This was a big disappointment. The rooms seemed reasonable but on closer inspection were dirty, had to clean deck chairs, tub and sink stained and cracking, fridge noisy throughout the night, could hear neighbors and an extremely rude owner. Only redeeming thing was front staff who were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rtramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart03, General Manager at Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are an owner-operated business that prides itself on its commitment to customer service and exceeding our guest expectations.
We will always endeavour to address any issues to the satisfaction of our guests - my responsibilties are to all our guests, my staff and the Hotel.
Solutions and alternatives to any issues raised were offered, even accommodation at another Hotel - we regret we were unable to meet your expectations in this instance. However, as you can see from other reviews we have many happy guests that have stayed with us and often are repeat staying guests. The Bay of Islands is an idyllic holiday escape and there are an array of activities on offer should you wish to visit the region again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    67
    43
    21
    5
See reviews for
46
88
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Thanks for a fantastic break! Excellent hosts and great service, we really enjoyed our weekend. Nothing too much trouble. Will definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Larger studio room perfect for two people and 1 year old
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexwallaceNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Booked on line at a good rate and were delighted to receive a double upgrade! Big, well-appointed split-level room, quiet and at the back of the property. Well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Staff friendly & helpful. Large rooms - Nice pool & close to the main road. Walk to all the local restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A very nice greeting was received upon our arrival at the hotel. When we checked in our room was still being cleaned - our problem as we were a bit early. The lovely cleaner offered to change us to the next door room, however upon inspection we asked if we could be changed to a room with a balcony (both being smokers it was easier than having to leave the room everytime one of us required a quick puff!) This was not a problem and that was sorted inmediately (and to our surprise once we had come back from a bit of a drive around Paihia an ashtray had been thoughfully placed on our outside table! (nice touch). The hotel was perfectly adequate - not good, not bad, just adequate. The breakfast (which was included) was a standard cooked breakfast, again nothing out of the ordinary - however for good value for money, a friendly attitude, and proximity to the waterfront it was perfect for us and prob would be for you too...

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwiactrss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our OAT (Overseas Adventure Travel) group of 8 stayed here for a 3 night pre-trip. Buildings of the resort are spread out on the property. I shared a room in the third building on the hill behind the lobby and restaurant. The weather was a little too chilly to use the pool, but the spa was definitely appreciated after long hikes. Reasonable WiFi access available. Breakfasts were very good, choice of egg styles and also continental breakfast. Resort's restaurant offered a "cook your own meat on Hot Lava Rock" dinner. I chose lamb -- it was divine!

(My luggage did not make the flight from LAX-AKL. Stuart, the owner of the resort, and Sue, our OAT tour guide, made constant calls to Qantas to get the latest news and my bag arrived by the second evening.)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thannaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Whilst the room was in need of refurbishing the welcome we received on arrival was a great start to the holiday. Management kindly helped to reunite us with our baggage which did not arrive with us when our plane landed in Auckland. The Hotel was conveniently located within walking distance of the wharf and Ferries to Russell. Cooked breakfast was more than adequate. We wished we had more time at the resort to enjoy a drink near the pool which was a superb setting and would be particularly nice in the morning to early afternoon. All in all we think that Cam from Self Drive Holidays NZ made another good choice when organising this accomodation for us.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNZwithJARs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
2.0 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel

Property: Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
Address: 27 Kings Rd., Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the tranquil atmosphere of The Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel which has a 3 Star Plus rating and Enviro Bronze Award. Swim in the pool, relax in our spa, enjoy a sauna, work out in our gymnasium. Most of our rooms look over a natural setting of native and subtropical plantings and are available at surprisingly affordable rates. The Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel is located at 27 Kings Road, Paihia, Bay of Islands, New Zealand. It is a short stroll to the ocean and only a 5 minute walk into Paihia town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paihia Pacific Hotel Paihia
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing