We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked through a Grabone deal and it was good value. Don't expect the Ritz but it was quite adequate for the 2 days we were there. Close to most amenities. Breakfast was good value for money. Pool was nice and refreshing - especially after sitting in the sauna for 20 minutes. I see from previous comments that the pool looked dirty. The pool was not actually dirty. It only looks like that because they have used real rocks cemented into the surrounds. Apart from it being cool due to the weather, the pool was great. The spa and sauna were a very welcome addition to our stay. Our room was ok and car parking was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We were so disapointed when we arrived at our room here.
I have no idea how this place has 4 stars but I give it a 2.
I have stayed in many hotels all around nz and this was the most dated and unclean one i've ever stayed at.
We drive around Paihia to look for another option but everywhere was full.
Our room was very dark and felt like a backpackers hostel.
I found a big long hair on my "clean" towel too.
We got a great deal from grabone but if I had paid full price I would have complained to the hotel.
Would not stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vicroynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location and quiet as the rooms are off the road. Rooms have everything you need, including a comfy bed and surprise you with some nice touches; quality bath products, plunger coffee and decent coffee cups. Breakfast is impressive and again has some 5 star signs ie quality muesli. Pool a little tired looking but functional, spa and sauna fine. Manager made a personal visit to the room which was a nice touch. Staff seem minimal but are lovely and do a great job (cleaners included).

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Maree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked this hotel through Grabone and it was a very good deal. The accommodation itself was very average, but it was clean and quiet. The hotel was virtually empty and the restaurant and bar weren't open but that didn't worry us. They had an excellent spa. The pool was a bit dirty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We booked this hotel on a special offer for a really good price. When we arrived not only were we greeted by a warm helpful clerk but to our delight we had been upgraded! We also were given a free drink each if dinned in. We did and the food was fantastic! Everything and everyone about the place was top notch. It was our 35th wedding anniversary and we had a blast exploring the Bay of Islands. If the weather is good one must be sure to do the "whole in the rock" boat trip.

Room Tip: The upgraded room 210 was up the back well away from the road and a nice elevated view over the top...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in this lovely hotel for four nights at the beginning of March 2014. We used it as our base to explore this beautiful region in North Island, New Zealand.
The room was huge and on two levels with doors opening unto a little terrace. We were in a room at the top of a little slope and well away from the reception area. This meant that we could not receive wifi in our room and had to come down to the swimming pool area to use our phone and tablet.
The room was very clean,the large bed very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and well equipped.
We were able to make tea or coffee and snacks in our accommodation but it would not have been possible to self cater.
The hotel is well situated to access local restaurants and there was lots of choice of good quality food to suit all tastes in the are.
We enjoyed a delicious meal in the hotel restaurant on our first evening. We didn't repeat the experience not because of food quality but we felt that the service was very slow.
We were rather disappointed in the size and quality of the outdoor swimming pool as we like to swim before breakfast. The beach was just a three minute walk away so we swam in the sea.
All the staff in the hotel were friendly,helpful and extremely pleasant.
Car parking at the property is plentiful and this was a great bonus.
We found this hotel a most convenient base from which to explore this most beautiful region of New Zealand and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to reception are most convenient and receive wifi. They would also get most sun.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgreilly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is set slightly back from the main beach road so it's very quiet. There are plenty of parking spaces near each row of rooms. The room itself was fantastic, we had a split level double bedroom with a spacious bathroom which included a bath and shower. The lower level had two extra single beds, a sofa, coffee table and writing desk. The upper level had a very wide comfortable double bed, a small fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. Breakfast, which was not included in the room price, was very good.
The swimming pool is lovely and big enough to be able to have a gentle swim. The jacuzzi was also good and best of all was the dry sauna room, which can accommodate two people. Both the sauna and jacuzzi are by the poolside. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the beach, restaurants, shops, tourist information etc and there are a couple of smaller pub style places on Kings Road.

Room Tip: If you want almost complete quiet them ask for a room at the top row
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0sephine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.4 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
0.2 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel

Address: 27 Kings Rd., Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: £49 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the tranquil atmosphere of The Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel which has a 3 Star Plus rating and Enviro Bronze Award. Swim in the pool, relax in our spa, enjoy a sauna, work out in our gymnasium. Most of our rooms look over a natural setting of native and subtropical plantings and are available at surprisingly affordable rates. The Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel is located at 27 Kings Road, Paihia, Bay of Islands, New Zealand. It is a short stroll to the ocean and only a 5 minute walk into Paihia town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paihia Pacific Hotel Paihia
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing