We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect long weekend away for a surprise engagement!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My partner and I spent 3 nights over Easter 2013 here and we had the best time! The service was exceptional and the view from our room was utterly amazing. Even as we checked in I thought, WOW with a view like this, this is the type of place people get engaged. Little did I know that the next day my partner would propose (he did it on a deserted beach, but still!) We had 3 relaxing, wonderful nights, and even got a lift in to town thanks to Norm on the Saturday night so we could have a few drinks to celebrate our engagement (he offered to pick us up later too, but we grabbed a cab).

Everything about the weekend was great, from check-in to check-out. The service, the room, the cleanliness (and cleaners), the view - even the friendly neighbours. Would HIGHLY recommend.

Room Tip: I didn't book it because it was a surprise from my fiance, but he said when you book online you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danijustis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent 4 nights here at the beginning of March 2013 and wish it could have been longer. We had one of the highest units and the views were spectacular. Norm and Shelagh were very helpful and pointed us in the right direction for everything from fish and chips, through horse riding to a wonderful day's sailing. The unit was spacious and clean and the pool was excellent. Altogether the best place we stayed on our trip.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views but everywhere seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 807ChrisC807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights just prior to easter. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with the friendinest most hostibale host i have ever encounted. Norm could answer any question from best fish n chips, best daytime activities etc. Checkin was effortless and after a good friendly chat we were shown to our room. Room 3 right at the top was more than adequate, spotlessly clean and OMG the view - certainly everything exactly as advertised on website.. We could find nothing to complain about and would certainly return. Our 3 day rest here was certainly worth the long drive up to theBay of Islands.Sit outside the room and take in the sunrise and views over a glass of wine or 2. Thank you Norm, wish you had of joined us for a drink or 2...next time definately.

Room Tip: Room 3, the views are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezzalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We booked online and it exceeded our expectations. We had one of the top 2 bedroom units with magnificent views and privacy. The peace and quiet away from town was great & the kids loved the pool & spent many hours in it. The games, Dvd's and puzzles were also a bonus for family time. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights here, although some cooling in the rooms would have been appreciated by these Southlanders. Thanks to the hosts that made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Cook's Lookout Motel was a great motel to stay at. The views were stunning, the room was spacious yet it was the excellent service and hospitality we were most impressed by. Norm suggested some excellent things to do and sights to see. He arranged for us to go swimming with dolphins and suggested some great places to go and have a bite. He genuinely wanted us to have a good time, which was nice to experience. I would very much recommend staying here if you're visiting Paihia!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchTouch100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We booked this motel on the strength of its Tripadvisor reviews - people must have had their eyes closed! On the plus side, there was a beautiful view from our room. But the minuses! We booked a "fully refurbished" Queen Studio promising queen bed and en-suite bathroom for just under £90 a night. First the bed - New Zealand Queens must be very small - we call it a basic double in the UK. The promised en-suite bathroom was missing a bath! There were ants crawling in the shower and mouse-droppings on the floor in the shower room when we arrived, and in the bedroom the curtains must have been hung when the pre-fab units were first put on-site and not cleaned since - they were badly faded, thick with dust and cobwebs but worst of all the backings were covered in deeply-ingrained black mould. The bed and all of the rest of the furniture had seen better days, the bedside chests were unmatched with the varnish peeled off, the bedding was mis-matched and worn, with small holes in the sheets and the quilted cover from excess wear, and I don't think anything except the electrics had been updated since the 1970's so how the owners can call it "refurbished" is beyond me. Not cheap either - and almost zero service (e.g. no breakfast available, heavy "encouragement" to make your own bed and a fine of $30 if you left your coffee cups dirty!). Never again - if you are coming to the Bay of Islands then the best place to stay, with just as good views and matching rates, is almost alwhere in Russell.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookslookout, Owner at Cook's Lookout Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

We are sorry that the guests were so unhappy with our accommodation and service. Such a pity that nothing was said until they checked out, thus denying us the opportunity to address their many perceived concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in February 2013.When Norm opened the door to our studio we gasped. The view was absolutely stunning. Of all the places we stayed in during our 4 week tour of north and south island this had the best view' We could even sit in bed with a morning cuppa and watch the tide coming in or even the Maori canoes being heaved up and down the river in preparation for Waitangi day, Feb 6th. The view stretches right out into the Bay. Its stunning.
Shelagh told us about the rainforest walk to the Treaty Grounds. Its about 3 miles through fabulous bird and cicciada singing forest. No troublesome insects to bother you.The path starts just down the road from the motel at the Haruru Falls where you can park free.It ends on the beach near Paihia and is memorable and easy to follow.
The room was very well equipped and clean. Norm and Shelagh couldn't have been nicer. This motel is excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJBHighWycombeBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
3.7 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £82 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing