We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cook's Lookout Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A1 Motel(Paihia)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
739
197
34
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
197
34
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorm shelaghnew zealandsolar heated poolshort driveamazing viewspeaceful locationharuru fallsgreat hostssense of humourglass of wineplaces to visitthree nightspaihia towntwo bedroom unita great place to staylocal areaoverlooking the bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This has a bit of everything: close to town, great views, pool, BBQ, trampoline, rooms with kitchen, internet.

Very lovely waking up to the view of the ocean. Relax, have a cup of tea or a beer in the afternoon, and take in the changing tides and lighting. Easy access to town but removed from the craziness and the main highway traffic.

Hosts are wonderful and ready to make your stay special and help you to get information on local sights and trips further up the road.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have an ocean view, perhaps all, didn't check that closely. We enjoyed room 8 as it had a lovely deck and stairs to the pool and spectacular views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in early November and would highly recommend staying with Norm and Shelagh. They both made you feel at home and will have a chat with you. The views are amazing from every room and relaxing sitting on the deck soaking up the scenery. Would have loved to have stayed longer. We watched a gyro copter for several minutes flying over the bay. No noise was just great. Bed was so comfortable that the sun was the only thing that woke us.

Room Tip: Choose room no. 8 as it has two bedrooms and spacious area.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I just left there last week and I'm ready to go back already. What a wonderful getaway for us. The views every morning looking out from our bed were amazing. We would just lay there and watch the colors change as the sun rose. Evenings sitting on our private deck with a glass of wine watching the sun go down were special. Norm, the owner, was great for setting us up with some activities, great restaurants and ideas for day trips. We looked at some other hotels down the hill in Pahia that were cheaper, but the rooms were small, outdated and walls that were paper thin. At Cook's we never even heard any other guests, had privacy in our bedroom and living room and never even felt like we had to close the drapes..
If your looking for somewhere special, Cook's is the place to go. We loved the Pahia area which offered great small restaurants, beautiful beaches, kayaking with Robert and just hanging out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a ocean view from the bedroom!! Great way to wake up with that special person and a great view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is such a good place to stay. Yes, you can stay in one of the many hotels/motels in the town but you will be missing the most amazing views you could wake up to. You can sit on your deck and look out at the bay at sunset or lay in bed and watch the sunrise.
Norm and Shelagh are very good hosts and even put up with our boisterous children on the trampoline and in the wonderfully warm pool (the kids are only 30 and 28!) Norm was also very helpful with us having 3 vehicles to park. He's a real character.
Our room was clean and comfortable and was lovely and quiet at night, so a goods night sleep.
We would recommend Cooks Lookout to everyone.

Room Tip: We were in room 8 and had our own steps to the pool area.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHARDLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I read about this place on tripadvisor and decided to try it. Loved it!! The view is gorgeous. It is very special to see the sun rise and set over the bay from this spot. The motel is only 4 minutes from Paihia. You can be away from all the activity and noise of the town, yet it is readily available. When you have had enough action, you can retreat to Cook's Lookout Motel for a lovely peaceful setting. The rooms are furnished with a hot plate, microwave, refrigerator, ie full kitchen. Also a plus for travelers is their coin operated washer and dryer on property. Norm is wonderful and will give you advise and directions to everything.
Kitty & Gary Petersmeyer-Los Atlos, CA USA

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews