We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just book it - it's that good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just book it - it's that good.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great place, with amazing panoramicviews (try and get apartment number 3 where you get these views from the bedroom as well as the decked area). Norm and Shelagh (owners) are wonderful, a wealth of knowledge, and couldn't be more helpful.
The room, pool and facilities in gereral are really good.
Happy times.

Room Tip: Go for apartment number 3 - best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    190
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
248
521
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

That's it - just great. :) The views from our ocean front apartment were spectacular and the staff were like old friends, as soon as we walked through the door. Nothing was an issue. Looking forward to staying again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Magnificient views of the bay of islands from the room, really nice service. Very private and peaceful location. They also offer good discounts on the tour packages. The hosts are very friendly, the also give free dvds to watch at night

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank If8588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was the perfect spot for our stay in the Bay of Islands. My friend and I were amazed by the fabulous views from our room and private balcony. Our room was also very clean, spacious, and neat. The pool was also quite nice and very large for a motel pool. Our hosts, Norm and Shelagh, were extremely hospitable; it felt like we were staying with longtime friends rather than in a motel. They were also very helpful in assisting us with tour bookings and recommending activities and places to dine. For example, we were so glad that they recommended the Cape Reinga tour instead of us driving up to the Cape ourselves. We would have missed out on the Ninety Mile Beach drive and sand dune boarding if we had tried to go by ourselves. We definitely wished we could have stayed longer than just three nights. We can't wait to go back to this gem nestled in the Bay of Islands!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neptunes_Daughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The location of COOK'S LOOKOUT was ideal for our stay in The Bay of Islands. The units have been completely and tastefully refurbished, are spotlessly clean and with great kitchen facilities. The bonuses for us were the first rate swimming pool,and the welcoming and helpful hosts, Norm and Shelagh, plus a spectacular view of river, ocean, hills and mountains from our unit. Our deck was edged with a border of greenery and flowers that blended with the natural surroundings. The sounds of the birds and insects were the only sounds we heard while sitting on our very private deck. Life seldom offers anything more peaceful and beautiful than this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladner British Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Our last stop in our 5 week tour of New Zealand, before driving to Auckland to fly home, was Cook's Lookout. What a wonderful place to come to at the end of our travels! We stayed 3 nights but wish we could have stayed much, much longer. Norm and Shelagh made us feel really welcome and helped us plan our days. We booked the motel based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed – our room was immaculate, the gardens were lovely, parking was convenient (right outside our unit), the swimming pool was large and clean (with a great view), and the view from our deck and room was stunning. We left the curtains open at night to watch the morning and night skies. This is about as close to paradise as you can get – and the hosts are the best!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyBCTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waiuku, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I wanted to have some relaxing time in northlands before spending Christmas with relatives. Based on the views promised by the website, and the rave reviews here on trip advisor, we booked Cooks Lookout for five nights. We were not disappointed!!!!
Norm and Shelagh gave us the warmest welcome possible, The views from our room across the bay to russel were stunning. It was so peaceful.
We had a studio room which was spacious, clean, and well equipped.
We had our own private terrace, to sit and enjoy the views. Recently refurbished pool was warm, clean and inviting.
Located on the ridge above Paihia, cooks look out is away from the hustle and bussel of the town centre, but only four minutes drive, so you can have the best of both worlds, enjoy the restaurants and bars in Paihia, but come home for a glass of whatever on your terrace and take in the moonlit bay view before retiring for a good nights sleep.
We will be returning as soon as we can save up to come to NZ again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Property: Cook's Lookout Motel
Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing