We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cook's Lookout Motel
Nearby Hotels
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
US$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Sands Seafront Studios(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
739
197
34
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
197
34
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorm shelaghnew zealandsolar heated poolshort driveamazing viewspeaceful locationharuru fallsgreat hostssense of humourglass of wineplaces to visitthree nightspaihia towntwo bedroom unita great place to staylocal areaoverlooking the bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent two nights in a two bedroom unit, at the very top of the site. The views over the Waitangi Treaty Grounds out into the Bay of Islands were magnificent. The unit itself had everything you could need for your stay, with its own piece of decking to sit and enjoy the views.
The motel is located a little way outside of the main town, but it is an easy drive and a lot more peaceful than staying in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaz-n-Dave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Norm & Shelagh are the best of hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The units are smart, modern and spotless. The views are to die for. The refurbished solar heated pool is excellent. All in all it is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 2013JEDI55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by Norm like friends rather than guests. After a good chat and some terrific information about the area, we were shown to our room which was unit 3. We had requested this room in advance and we were happy this request was granted.The room is large and very comfortable, with all the amenities needed for a relaxing stay. There's a good collection of DVDs to borrow and a varied collection of books to read (you even get to take one with you if you don't finish it in time!). The pool area is lovely. The view is spectacular. On Norm's recommendation we watched the view as the sun set behind us. Awesome - a must do. We found the location to be ideal - close enough to town (we had a car) nearby to attractions but far enough away to be incredibly quiet except for the sounds of nature, not to mention away from town lights affording a spectacular view of the stars at night. We definitely recommend Cook's Lookout as a great place to stay in Paihia. Thanks Norm and Shelagh.

Room Tip: Unit 3 has the best view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the cooks motel for a couple of days. The owners went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed. We have been traveling with our 7 month baby boy so had a million strange requests. The view is spectacular the rooms are quiet, functional and spacious. But the owners make the place that bit special.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Muffin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a fantastic time staying at Cook's Lookout. The room was spacious and well equipped and the view from the main bedroom and lounge was stunning. We took Norm's recommendation and slept with the curtains open so that we woke to the sight of the sun rising over the Bay of Plenty! As it was our first visit to the area, Norm and Shelagh gave us some great recommendations for walks and places to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAO163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews