We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cook's Lookout Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A1 Motel(Paihia)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
739
197
34
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
197
34
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorm shelaghnew zealandsolar heated poolshort driveamazing viewspeaceful locationharuru fallsgreat hostssense of humourglass of wineplaces to visitthree nightspaihia towntwo bedroom unita great place to staylocal areaoverlooking the bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
858 - 863 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2010

When we arrived, we were faced with a very steep drive through the motel accompanied by Norm, then we were shown our room with a view over the Bay of Islands,we were wowed.
Breakfast was taken in bed looking over the river,bays and towards Russell.
Norm very helpful with trips and sites to see,all in all a wonderful start to the holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelmsfordPhilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed 3 nights with our kids 7 years old boy and 19 month old girl and my parents visited us from Japan. All of us stunned for the view when we arrived our room that was family unit!!!! We were soooo happy with all their seivice and quiet location. Our boy enjoyed pool and our girl enjoyed room it was very spacious and no sharply funiture!!
My mum said she likes to stay Cooks lookout again for her next visiting (much longer than this time! she said!!)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hananokai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

The motel was 7 mins drive out of Paihia. The views were spectacular and it was lovely to go back to the motel in the evening and relax in the solar heated pool and watch the sun go down. The motel was very quiet and the rooms were very clean. Norm and Sheila (the hosts) were very helpful and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend this for families with smaller children as the teenagers found it too far to walk into Paihia. We would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsuph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cook's Lookout. The views were breathtaking and the motel offered everything you could possibly need.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

These 3 days were the highlight of my first-ever trip to NZ and I found the motel by accident, so a wonderful surprise...Norm and Shelagh really looked after me as a solo traveller and loved every moment of my stay (and the wine and putting the world to rights with the lovely hosts!). Norm's travel tips were excellent. The view is better than you can imagine and you can't beat having a glass of wine or a cup of tea overlooking the bay from your private terrace. A great choice!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews