We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, superb hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We had a fantastic time at Cooks lookout. The boys loved the pool which (unlike many we'd come across) was warm. The views were beautiful and provided you have a car then the distance from Paihia is a positve bonus. You get all the benefits of being in the heart of the Bay of Islands without the noise.
Norm and Sheelagh were great hosts, nothing was too much trouble - even retrieving the football from the roof!
We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

827 - 833 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the spectacular view from our bed in the studio. Norm and Shelagh were very friendly and helpful with suggestions on where to go and what to see. Shelagh even offered to lend me a swimsuit as I had forgotten to bring mine!
The location is very quiet and the directions we were given were easy to follow. if we return to the Bay of Islands we will stay again to enjoy breakfast on the deck with one of the best views ever, watching the tide come in or out.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

The views were incredible in this lovely location just out of Paihia. Just out of the hussle and bussle of town with great views over Paihia and Waitangi to Russell, it was great. Highly recommended to anyone wanting a great stay in Paihia.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We had 6 nights in Cook's lookout from 9 January 2010. We found the place after reviews on tripadvisor. The rooms were clean and tidy, the hosts charming and the views just wonderful. If you get a chance then just go.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamzahPasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed for few nights and my children age 9 & 11 loved the swimming pool as it was right by our room and it was heated. We could take advantage of it in the morning and evening. It was great! Us grown ups really enjoyed the beautiful views from our room. Children were please to have comfy beds and had a good night sleep. Norm and Shelagh were very helpful in advising and organizing day trips for us which we had found very convenient.
The art by the office was very original. We were very pleased with our stay and will recommend to friends.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
Thank HappyHolidays047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Having spent three weeks touring the South Island in not very good weather we decided to spend a few days in the Bay of Islands to relax and prepare ourselves for the journey home.

We found Cook's Lookout motel, situated on the top of the hill off the main road out of Pahia. We booked a room for five nights. We received a warm welcome from Norm & Shelagh who showed us to our one bedroom unit over looking the swimming pool with a wonderful view of the bay, Waitangi Treaty grounds and Russell.

We enjoyed this beautiful, peaceful place so much that we booked an extra six nights. Norm & Shelagh, will book your trips, advise where to visit and where to eat and Norm will tell you a tale or two while you soak up the sun by the heated pool.

We will take home some fantastic photographs of the ever changing view across the bay, our advise would be don't eat out enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony and watch the changing scene across the bay.

Thank you Norm & Shelagh we hope to return on our next visit to New Zealand.
M&J England

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Steping into a solar heated pool for a relaxing dip, eating either out on the deck or inside. A quiet night without traffic noise. Only a few minutes away from Waitangi and Paihia. Cooks Lookout provided us with a ideal place to stay and enjoy our Bay of Islands experience.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kiwitraveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
473 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
1.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £89 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing