We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Gotta be the best kept hotel in the North! We are still here for our annual holiday in the Bay and are dreading leaving!!! Well travelled mostly in five star hotels wefind this place regardless of rating has a view to die for, pool area for all ages, immaculate grounds , spotlessly kept and cleaned and a team forever friendly!
We live in Auckland but know the north well from been born and bred here, have stayed in many a place and nothing comes close to this for facilities, price, great restaurant for the family and the best thing you can walk to everything in the bay from it' s location.
Great all weather games room to get the teenage monsters out of ones hair!
We are booked for 2014 already, highly recommended place to go! Thanks to the team here, another memorable holiday commented by great weather and fine wine!Cheers Lyle and Gail and kids

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irwinmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for you positive feedback. I will pass this onto all of our staff.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    201
    71
    19
    7
See reviews for
107
220
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maorichikita
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Excellent location to spend New Years. Buffet dinner was delicious and reasonably priced. Happy hour and one man band ok, more suited to older customers. Awesome views of the New Years fire works and so close to the bars so you can come and go till the wee hours of the morning. Really friendly staff, nice pool area and spacious studio rooms. Will book here again, maybe for next new years eve.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maorichikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kingsgate. We reserved a room with a view across the bay. Watching the sunset over the bay from the room or balcony was spectacular. The facilities in the room were very good as was the cleanliness. The staff could not have been more helpful and were always cheerful. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Nice pool area overlooking one of the islands, beachfront. Never ate at the motel as there are so many local eateries within a minutes walk, room consisted of 2 double beds and it was well stocked with tea, coffee etc. the fridge came I'm really handy. Very enjoyable 2 night stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTuros77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

got the deal from grabone and stayed for two nights. love the hot tub in the hotel. staffs were friendly and nice too. great location. would love it even more if hotel could provide more free time for wifi =)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rm_uyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are currently looking at options to upgrade our Wifi service.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed here with a tour group. Important to note that this is a motel and therefore the majority of rooms overlook the car park and opposite wing so no nice views. However rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable beds. The location isexcellent with the ferry terminal a short walk away and shps cafes also. Wifi restricted to half hour free and can only be picked up close to the reception area. Food was very good and the restaurant has lovely view over the bay and motel swimming pool. Overall good service super location.

Room Tip: Maybe upgrade to suite overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacko48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our standard rooms do not have views however we have 12 suites which have great views over the water. We are currently looking at options to upgrade our Wifi service.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

The location of this hotel was great, just 5 minute walk from the ferry/boat buildings and the shops. We were on the ground floor with the rest of our group and signs showing easy access for wheelchairs appeared in every passage. Odd though that the only way to the restaurant was up two flights of stairs and there were no lifts available. The pool looked inviting however the weather didn't brighten up for us to try it. Our room was comfortable and the no smoking signs on each door was nice to see. We were in a group of 14 and had been told to be seated by 1830 in the Reef Restaurant. This accomplished we watched as the rest of the guests were being served and we were left until about hour later before in filling orders! We had a choice for each of our three courses: Veg soup/prawn cocktail; roast lamb/T boast steak each with veges and jacket potatoes; pavlova/dutch apple pie. My wife and I chose the prawn/lamb/pavlova and thoroughly enjoyed each course except that there was too much lamb! Others that had different selections all enjoyed them too. We breakfasted two mornings to scrambled eggs, bacon, tomatoes, hash browns, baked beans and the best sausages I've tasted in a long time. A pleasant stay with pleasant and helpful staff. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ground floor accommodation suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0lves70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing