We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The rooms were clean and a good size and basically it was a motel which did the job.It was in a good location very close to everything and there were plenty of places to eat nearby.The ferry went from just along the road so this was handy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Loved my stay here, rooms very modern, hotel has a nice lay out. Ice freezers in the hall. comfy beds, friendly staff, nice food for room service. Will stay again.
air con in rooms to keep room warm. Quiet hotel.

Room Tip: Book online and save some cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Once again Kingsgate has provided an excellent base for us to enjoy Paihia and the surrounding area.
Very friendly helpful staff and Castaway bar meal very nice and value for money.
Really enjoyed the spa after our walks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Paihia is a tiny tourist town about three hours from Auckland. The hotel is right on the water and a block from the Main Street of town. It is also right across the from ferry landing to Russell. The room was clean and had nice amenities-French press coffee, tea, and cocoa. The staff was really nice and helpful. We really found this to be a good value !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Had a great two nights in a one bedroom suite facing the water. Really well appointed with everything we needed and the paper each morning! Had a soak in the hot tub which was great and a drink and meal at the bar which was good too.
Staff friendly.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Both my husband and myself were very pleased with our recent stay at kingsgate hotel, we found our one bedroom suite to be of excellent standard, the view was amazing, and the suite was well equip to meet all our needs during our stay, found the bed to be comfortable, and the spa bath was welcomed after a long days drive. We had travelled up from palmerston north, via dargaville, kaitaia and only intended to stay a couple of days, but because we were enjoying our stay so much added another night on. We enjoyed a bar snack on one night and had tea at the restaurant on another night both meals were great, no complaints. Staff were all friendly and very helpfull.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey43_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I recommend this hotel. It was clean, comfy & in a good location, situated close to restaurants, etc. The bed was comfortable & we got a good night's sleep. The 2 couples we traveled with were of the same mind.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Textralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £65 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing