We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel is very centrally situated, right opposite the road from the waterfront and within a minute's walk from the village where the shops and restaurants are. We had a standard double room and our rate did not include breakfast, so I am unable to comment on breakfast. The room was immaculately clean - with two double beds, which gave a good night's sleep. The bathroom had a separate loo and washbasin, with a shower and bath. Fresh towels were available for the spa-pool- which was free to use in half hour slots, in the afternoon and evening. There is also a heated outdoor pool, but it was not warm enough for me to use. Tea and coffee making facilities were good - plunger and ground coffee were included. The reception staff are helpful and friendly.
I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want to maximise the spectacular views, request and ocean-facing suite.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

This motel is situated on the Waterfront only 2 mins walk to the boat trip terminal. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with aircon. I had breakfast once through choice and it was excellent. Reception and bar staff were all very good and chatty. The location is excellent as it is also only 2 minutes walk to the town but without any noise.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if you're getting a double double or a double single. A motel of this nature h...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was one of the better rooms we stayed in while travelling in the North Island. The rooms are spacious enough and were found to be surprisingly very clean. My partner is very scrutinising of hotels when it comes to cleanliness and she was very impressed with this room. However, our showerhead provided very poor water pressure, which was the only let down. The facilities were very good at this hotel, including the heated spa, swimming pool, and games room. The restaurant was also good in terms of quality, but seemed a little overpriced. Definitely, would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossKilpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Talk about an Hotel with a view this place as it , fantastic view of the bay , the buffet breakfast and evening meal are superb, rooms very comfortable , my only concern the bathroom nicely appointed bit the bathroom floor can get very slippy make sure you use the rubber mat provided if not ask for one. apart from that wonderfull

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TezFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is the third time that we have stayed in this hotel this year and the quality of the rooms and breakfast has not changed. Service was average, which was to say that barring the very friendly receptionist (Management, you need to do everything to keep her). There was no friendly feel about the place.
Shame.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlacKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Once more we returned to our favourite spot. Such good friendly staff and the perfect position to share in all the wonders that the Bay of Islands has to offer. The food is great, wholesome and plentiful. we didn't eat breakfast or dinner anywhere else! The suite was excellent and had everything you could need. The bed was very comfortable and the filter coffee some of the best we have tasted. Our view and the lovely weather made or stay one to remember. Thanks to everyone

Room Tip: go for the suites that overlook the water. What a view!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Absolutely love this place. This was our third time staying @ kingsgate.. reception staff are very helpful especially Mel. We spent two nights in the 2 bedroom apartment... view is amazing!! My two kids absolutely love the place..pool spa games room. Can not find a fault! has such a home away home feeling...definitely recommend staying here. close to shops, ferry to Russell.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I am pleased that you had such a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £51 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing