We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Nearby Hotels
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
US$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Sands Seafront Studios(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
178
243
91
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
243
91
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomgreat locationseparate toiletper daytwo double bedsbuffet breakfastoutdoor poolreception staffwould stay againsmall fridgefirst floorwater frontgood sizeair contwo nightsacross the roadnice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed overnight in room with a beautiful view over the bay. The staff were very pleasant to deal with, the accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Loved the view from the room, waking up to see two cruise ships in the morning was a treat. Waitangi is a must for all Kiwis.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great place to stay, right by the shops and wharf.
Rooms a good size, Bathrooms could be a better design.
Used to having a kitchen when i go away so not having one was alot more expensive with having to eat out.
Gym was great to have the use off, would be better if you could go in anytime.
Couldn't use spa or play pool, both out of action

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stubbies35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately our spa pool motor blew up during your stay but it was fixed quickly. The gym is run by an outside company and unfortunately due to health and safety considerations there needs to be trained personal in the gym when it is open.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We got a fantastic deal on GrabOne for 2 nights ($149) including late check out of 12pm and 2 complimentary drinks in the bar. We were warmly greeted when checking in on a long weekend (Anzac) in which the hotel was completely full as I understand it. I am a clean freak and the room and bathroom were absolutely spotless! Unfortunately no king bed and just 2 doubles in the studio but can't complain really for the price, I had a break from snoring right next to my ear for 2 nights so all good. Haha. The staff in all areas of the hotel were friendly and a real credit to the place. The shower had the best shower pressure we have ever had at a hotel (including 5 star hotels). No piddly tryhard rain showerhead here! You could actually rinse the conditioner out of your hair. Location was fab and you could walk to restaurants. Heatpump/AC in room was very efficient. Beds comfortable and pillows perfect. We booked the private spa for 30 mins and once again I was surprised at how spotlessly clean everything was. The only negative was something the hotel doesn't have control over, which is noisy guests. I guess some people just don't care that their kids are running full speed through the halls and slamming doors at all hours, including starting at 7am and going until 10pm. Oh and we asked for our room to be made up during the day but only the beds were made. Wet towels weren't replaced and the sticky marks etc. weren't wiped down on the desk/bench area (would have done it ourselves it there had been equipment to do so). Other than that I would most definitely stay again as the value for money was unbeatable. Thank you for a wonderful weekend getaway and will see you again soon. P.S. Would be even better if there was a child free floor ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pachewychomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the noise from fellow guests. Our staff try to control noise specially from children during the school holidays but unfortunately they can't be everywhere. I have also passed on your comments regarding wet towels etc to our housekeeper. This should not happen and I apologise.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Only bad thing was that we left our beach towels from home in the hotels dryer. Apart from that we had a lovely break and will stay again if we are in paihia.
Tip- if you're going to Waitangi and are NZ residents you don't have to pay the entry fee.

Room Tip: If booking two rooms, ask for them to be interconnected, it's awesome!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly_Manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your review. Our staff found the towels in the dryer and are holding them at the hotel. We can arrange to get these sent to you if you want but require your contact details.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located, close to shops, restaurants & bars and right on the water front with stunning views. No complaints, the room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The room rate was very reasonable!! We had a great stay!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews