We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, helpful staff, perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent location, helpful staff, perfect location.”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

The Kingsgate is very central, ideal for the town, the pier and all amenities. Plenty of parking so dump the car and walk. I’m glad we stayed there.

First impressions; Staff were excellent. The rooms we stayed in had fabulous views out over the ocean. Again, some of my best holiday snaps, of the early morning sunrises over the bay were taken there. Only a few rooms have such great views and we paid a premium for it. We are both pleased we did.

Well equipped kitchen, comfy bed, spacious lounge.

This is a coaching hotel but you get your own reserved dining table. Ours was always by the balcony, overlooking the bay.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avery-Little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    212
    73
    20
    8
See reviews for
111
228
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

On the positive, the location is very good, being a very short walk to the jetty (where the cruises leave from) and restaurants etc. There was plenty of parking. The rooms were clean, the staff were reasonably helpful.

On the negative, it looks like an older property that has been refurbished as well as newer extensions added. I suspect what part of the motel you stay in will make a difference to your room experience. Our room was upstairs in the older part (close to the restaurant) and it was OK, but nothing special. The tiny balcony was a bit bizarre (maybe a later addition).

The pool area was closed for some major renovation when we were there which made me rather annoyed as we had booked only a couple a week earlier using a "last minute" web site and I had chosen the property on the basis of having a pool. Pretty clearly they must have known their pool was closed when they sold the rooms, yet promoted the property as having a pool. Rather deceptive, I thought. However, as the weather was rather cold and windy, I didn't fancy a swim during our stay, so I was not as disappointed as I would have been if the weather was hot and sunny,

The buffet restaurant served breakfast (which was included in our room rate). The breakfast was the usual run-of-the-mill offerings, but with nothing that made it stand out from a thousand other hotel breakfasts. As we were late risers, we were a bit unimpressed that breakfast was not served for as long as they claimed, as the staff seem to begin to clear away most of the food much earlier and we felt pressured to eat quickly and go. I notice that the "closing" of breakfast in practice coincidenced with the departure of tour groups. Breakfast was not impressive enough that we were tempted to sample the evening buffet dinners (not included) but ate at the many restaurants nearby.

I feel this motel sees tour groups as its primary client base and is somewhat less concerned about its independent travellers. While it was not a bad experience, still I think I would look for somewhere else if I was returning to Pahia, as I feel I could have had a better experience elsewhere.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pool closure
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kr_afol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

The look of this hotel can be deceiving. You first think that it will be a motel and then maybe a bit like a fifties holiday camp in the UK. The rooms are clean and good size and the sound insulation must be good because we did not get disturbed by any outside noise. The breakfast was very good and the two nights we stayed a carvery buffet style was on offer, but both being vegetarian we asked what alternatives would be offered and the chef took us on a tour and then reduced the price on both nights because we would not be having meat. Excellent. The hotel is across the road from the ocean and a two minute stroll to loads of activety on the shore front.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The Look
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nejbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We stayed at the kingsgate in september 2006.
Our room was on the groundfloor, next to the stairs and entrance to the restaurant.
The corridors are badly designed, with a loud echo.
Guests going back to their rooms at all hours were loud and noisy, the sound of the stairs when used was vibrating through the building.
Someone in the room next to ours started playing an electric guitar at 3am and was very drunk.
Reception closed at 11pm, so no one to complain to.
He decided to clean up his empties at 7am, next to our unit!
Staff was very noisy and unprofessional.
Sitting outside on crates, smoking and being very loud.
The Sunday morning was the worst with staff relatives arriving to join them on their very long break.
It was 8am and we counted at least 12 of them, including children.
The rooms itself where fine, but only a wardrobe and no drawers to put your clothes away.
Coffee and tea facilities were provided, but we had to wash the cups in the bathroom basin!
Needless to say we checked out after 2 sleepless nights and spend our last night somewhere quiet.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — noisy, unprofessional staff
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go there if you want to sleep
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freedomfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2006

Motel type hotel, restaurant average, noisy laundry room on ground floor. Clean room, but not outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2005

We stayed at the Kingsgate in late February 2005. Apparantly it was still holiday season and finding a room anywhere was not easy. We were able to get one at the Kingsgate for well over $100 US. The room had three twin beds and was right near the entrace and stairway to the restaurant. Needless to say it was a bit noisy at times. The room itself was clean but small and a bit dated with respect to furnishings. We were going to stay two nights but decided to find something else, which we did in Kerikeri. The of the Kingsgate is great and I'm sure that someone in that large hotel was a much nicer room than we got.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 May 2004

I stayed here February 2002 and April 2004 and not much has changed besides the name!

For the price, which in NZ terms is moderately high it's an average place.

The Location is really good, on the esplanade, near to the stores and the pier for Russell and the Bay of Islands. The views from the restaurant are excellent over the beach and into the bay.

The rooms were clean, daily maid service, there is table tennis and pool and even a jacuzzi in the basement.

The Complimentary bicycle had seen better days, but it was sturdy enough to cycle over to Waitangi and back for the afternoon.

I didn't eat an evening meal in the restaurant, but the breakfast, contintental and cooked were absolutely fine with a wide choice of foods.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing