We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only if you are desperate..”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only if you are desperate..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Only good things to say are clean, and short walk to shops/bars/restaurants. With the boom in tourism there are limited places to stay in the area, and they seem content to take the money without investing any money on the motel. Rooms dark and cramped, impossible to have a shower without flooding the bathroom: desperatly overdue for a makeover. There's another wall behind the bathroom window, so don't leave it open (or things crawl in). Bar area: forget it and walk into town. Breakfast: unless you enjoy bacon that looks like its preformed and out of a tin - eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    70
    48
    26
    19
See reviews for
36
84
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

We paid $75 for our room for 1 night. The hotel is just minutes walking distance to the wharf and restaurants. However, the hotel needs some updating. Considering it's just 3-star hotel, it's quite reasonable with the price that they charged us.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piggy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

I paid $80 a night for this place, which I thought was acceptable. Shame there is no Sky tv in the rooms. The spa pool had a worrying about of debris and 'gunk' in it, so not too sure about the hygiene...

If you just want somewhere to sleep and aren't too worried about luxury, this place is fine, I wouldn't pay more than the $80 a night though...

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paihia hotels

NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

We were at first disappointed to be booked at the Hotel instead of our first choice motel, but on arrival in Paihia found the Hotel very centrally located, just a short walk to the restaurant and jetty area. The rooms were tired, but clean and perfectl;y acceptable for the price we paid The little pool and spa were clean and refreshing, and the parking excellent. We didn't eat in the restaurant - there are many wonderful places just a short walk away! Being a larger accommodation, it seemed to house many bus trips etc. The staff were very pleasant, and we made ourselves at home by dragging chairs out onto the common walkway/balcony to enjoy the late afternoon ambience. There is a delightful 1 hr nature walk up a hill just behind the hotel - opposite way to the town centre. If you're not expecting frills, It's a good place to stay - and unlike many of the Paihia Motels, definitely within walking distance of the town.

  • Liked — Location proximity to town centre
  • Disliked — No views
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Yambagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slacks Creek, Queensland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

Have just returned from a Kirra Tours Bay of Islands tour & had the misfortune to be accommodated at the Hotel Paihia. My room was right on the ground floor beside the stairs. The only view I had was of the carpark right outside & a bit of bush behind the car parks. The view from the bathroom when the window was open was equally uninspiring - all that was seen was a brick wall - if I craned my neck a bit I could see a few trees which would have visible from the upper floors. What with the depressing dark wood panelling behind the bed, the wooden ceiling & a bathroom light which didn't work on my first night there (had a 2 night stay) I reached the conclusion that if I ever stay in Paihai again, the Hotel Paihia would not be on my accommodation list even if there was no other accommodation available. The meals were average. All windows had to be kept shut at night to keep insects out - also from a safety point of view.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — My room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivaldi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2007

I stayed on the special deal of $299 for 2 nights which included a $75 food voucher.The room rate was only $112. which was value for money as opposed to Scenic circle hotels charging $195 for crappy tired outdated rooms at the bEachcomber which deserves the 2 star rating it has DO NOT BE MISLEAD by the brand name .The other hotel has nice rooms but tired reception and hardly a lobby for the price they charge.

Hotel Paihia offered the convenience of a short walk to the maritime building and clean rooms with friendly staff.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Dated rooms
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RJones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2007

Looked good in newspaper advert - $299 for two nights in a standard room... kids under 12 for free and a $75 meal included -but...
We learned on Friday arrival that the restaurant /bar would not be open that night. Also found out there was no Sky TV in the rooms. The lounge where Sky was available was also closed that evening. In house movies available - first in first served but be quick because reception is also likely to close early if there isn't a full house.
Directed to tiny, noisy and very hot room - warning - no outlook unless you're interested in stark wooden fences and the roof of the Baptist church next door.
Shower head strangely mounted at around chest height. No good for adult wanting to wash his or her hair.
Restaurant opened the following evening. Smorgasbord type arrangement. Food luke warm. Poor selection i.e roast lamb, potato, kumara, peas, silverbeet only. Salad bar, chicken drumsticks. Chocolate log, lemon tart, ice-cream & jelly. Cream in a jug ( shouldn't it be whipped?) Frozen shrimps the only sign of seafood in an area famous for it - coffee/tea... not great value for $75. Much better selection and value for money for this type of dining at some of the chain restaurants around. Drinks not included.
All up not what this family expected... no way out however as both nights had to be paid up front to get the "special offer".
More up front information with your advertising in future please Hotel Paihia.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank AucklandMattg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.9 mi away
Haruru Falls Resort
Haruru Falls Resort
#39 of 43 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#27 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#8 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Paihia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Property: Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Address: 5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanoa Paihia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanoa Paihia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Paihia Hotel Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing