We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haruru Falls Resort
Ranked #39 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had an awesome stay at this fantastic resort facing the falls in a spacious varanda of the apartment. Great place to stay in Paihia. It is near to the city in a very calm and relaxing area. The resort is facing the falls that form a beautiful lake where you can swin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our family has stayed here on several occasions over the last 20 years. It used to be great but now its shabby at best. The room showers are more than a joke and some rooms simply dont work. Reception is often not manned and the owners dog is let lose to go anywhere it likes. A dog constantly in the reception/restaurant area and running in and out of any open rooms is unacceptable. The room TVs are a bigger disappointment. No Sky and in our rooms no reception on any of the three channels available :( The rooms are nowhere near as clean as they used to be and the overall attention to detail has dropped way way below to what it was a few years ago. Our beds were made up of the cheapest of mattresses and the pillows likewise from the warehouse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaruruFallsR, Front Office Manager at Haruru Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

We are not happy with your responce regarding the rooms, We would like to know your surname to send you a personal message through our reservation ststem, as we have no record of a family group staying in August. If you was a retuning guess you would have know we have no Sky channels in the rooms our water pressure is low as we are on natural spring water. The beds are SLEEPYHEAD AND PILLOW not purchased from the warehouse We have been doggy friendly for the last 3years this allows our guess to bring there pet which they treat as thier own child. The rooms are cleaned to qualmaking standard we like to continue to receive 4 stars plus this year. Please email us your email address to discuss further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

So many visits - so many friends !! We have been visiting this resort for nines years now and continue to build friendships with other regular visitors... Fishing, BBQing, swimming, eating and drinking live music and socializing its got the lot. Stunning grounds for events and celebrations - i enjoyed my 40th surprise Birthday Party here and the Falls top it all off as a main feature in this natural and beautiful environment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bon Smith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaruruFallsR, Front Office Manager at Haruru Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you Bonnie we enjoyed your company, look forward seeing you next time you are in NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked 2 nights stay thru Grabone deal. Best view ever with the sound of waterfall at night. Will definitely visit again. Continental breakfast comes in a box and there's no cook breakfast available. Room equipped with basic stuffs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaimies625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaruruFallsR, Front Office Manager at Haruru Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your response, hope to see you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We first discovered the secret of Haruru Falls Resort before Christmas last year. A magical spot, with the view of the lagoon and sound of the Falls as a relaxing backdrop. There is so much to rave about here. Jan, Heather and the staff made us feel at home straight away. Nothing too much trouble. We enjoyed the facilities, the pool, bbq, the restaurant and bar. Plenty to do for children, kayaks, giant chess, volleyball, etc.

The Falls are only a 10 minute walk from the Resort, and a bonus is that the Resort is only 5 minutes drive from Pahia, shops and beaches, and a short ferry ride to Russell.

A wonderful discovery for us, try it for yourself!!

and friendly staff

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaruruFallsR, Front Office Manager at Haruru Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you Donna for your responce hope you enjoyed your UK holiday, look foward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

After reading lots of review and the info the web I wnet ahead and booked through a grab one deal.
The falls are a natural wonder, grounds of the resort are well kept. The room was very basic not even a box of tissues. Our breakfast was included in the deal and we were very surprised to be handed it in a box at check in. After our drive up there we decidied to have a bit of a lie down before heading out for dinner, we were some what intrupted by the resident dog who is very cute scratching on the unit door and barking wanting to come in.
If you are looking for clean and tidy no frills then this is the place for you. Would be great place for family get away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairybread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Would not think twice about returning to this resort! Great value for money very hospitable service great location and top class facilities! Fantastic all round experience really made our trip to the bay of islands brilliant! Also the fact that we got complimentary transport into paihia was just the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
2.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
2.6 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#9 of 43 in Paihia
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
1.8 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
2.3 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haruru Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haruru Falls Resort

Address: Old Wharf Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: £60 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haruru Falls Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haruru Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel Paihia
Haruru Falls Resort Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing