We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Spot, Great Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haruru Falls Resort
Ranked #39 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 25 June 2010

More a motel & campsite than a resort, but we did enjoy our stay. We stayed in one of the motel style rooms which was clean, comfortable and quite large. We had a lovely time swimming with our little one in the very large pool. The grounds were very well maintained. The waterfall was nothing spectacular but made for a pleasant back drop. This motel was quite far from Paihia and you would certainly need your own transport to consider staying here but was nice and quiet away from the tourist crowds.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenAndKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

I have just come away from camping at Hurara Falls "Resort" for the Easter Weekend with my partner and 3 other friends and we were all very disappointed by the lack of care and cleanliness of the facilities for campers.

The campsite is in a beautiful location overlooking the river and Haruru Falls themselves, and they also have a very nice pool and a restaurant which we did not try (although a fellow camper told me that they had seen a cockroach on the bar when we were jointly bemoaning the state of the camping toilets).

We chose this site of the three (all adjacent to each other) because it looks on the surface well equipped and with good facilities - however AFTER we had paid and set up camp we wandered over to the toilets and camp kitchen and our hearts sank. The toilet and shower block was FILTHY, I mean really grubby, there was ingrained dirt on the floors and walls so you couldn't tell which was fresh filth and which had built up over time! I never once saw them clean - although I guess they gave it a cursory wipe over once in a while. On the second day after it hadn't looked cleaned a put a big cross in the massive smear on the mirror to see whether it would be gone in the morning - and the cross stayed there for 3 days and is probably still there now - so no cleaning of the mirror - a simple wipe would have done it! The kitchen was not much better, very basic in comparison to all other NZ campsites we have stayed at, no utensils, a very dirty fridge and no freezer, and some hobs.The two hobs with four rings worked ok the others might keep a pot warm but would not be strong enough to heat any food safely.

I can't vouch for the cleanliness or otherwise of the cabins - they looked ok on the outside, but they certainly did not seem to care about the campers and for the price I would say they are just living off their location!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suziflooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We (4 of us) spent a long weekend recently in one of the Family Apartments.
The accommodation was excellent. It was clean, tidy and very comfortable.
Serviced everyday with clean towels etc. Very friendly and helpful staff.
We had fantastic views of the falls and river from the deck of our apartment.
We spent alot of time by the pool which was wonderful. We all had a very relaxing, enjoyable time and didn't want to leave.
Highly recommend The Haruru Resort and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minibreak10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

great campgrounds and facilities. wonderful location. awesome pool!! loved our stay at your resort.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwillieis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

On the locals recommendations, myself and my partner stayed on site at Haruru Falls Resort or as i called it ' my little corner of Paradise' for just over 3 Months. Everyday we felt lucky to be waking up in such a scenic place! The stunning waterfalls just off to the left of the waterfront camp are made even more spectacular by the Rain forest surroundings which are in turn framed by the New Zealand Heritage trees, Pohutukawa.

These magnificent trees bloom Blood Red and the colour is such a contrast
to the plush green forest, the shimmering river, not to mention the white cascading waterfalls making the view from anywhere on this site absolutely breathtaking and one that you are not going to forget anytime soon!
The amenities available to us i thought were really good. Included in the very fair price was a Large swimming pool, complete with children's/adult's slide, Volleyball Net, Sun Loungers, Benches and Umbrellas. I was very impressed to see that surrounding the swimming pool was a fence acting as a barrier so children could only enter pool area with adult supervision.
Also immediately next to the pool area there was a well-thought out family area complete with tennis nets, trampoline, wendy house, giant chess, croquet and a barbecue area.

The large ablution block contained everything that you would expect and was cleaned daily in the early hours of the morning. The Laundry room was average but the owner is building a brand new Laundry room soon on the side of the ablution block so everything is in the same place. There was no need to worry about drying space either as there was ample space available on clothes lines and if you were peckish while hanging out your laundry there is a plum tree behind the lines which you are allowed to help yourself to.
If all of that isn't enough there are single and double kayaks available to hire at cheap rates from reception.
The owner and all staff at Haruru Falls Resort were so friendly, helpful and welcoming that we even joined them for our Christmas Dinner! There is a restaurant on site with a mouth-watering menu but if you don't want something too heavy then there is a brilliant bar snacks menu too. The bar area was so relaxing you could easily spend a few hours there especially with the welcoming atmosphere.

All in all we had a really,really fantastic stay at Haruru Falls resort and would strongly recommend anyone to stay there! We have been to other campsites since and none of them even come close. If you have chance to stay here just take it, you will not regret it!

I would like to say thank-you to the owner and all staff at Haruru Falls Resort for making our stay unbeatable and unforgetable! Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauzdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Have just spent 3 weeks trpping around the North Island with the family staying in Cabins & Motorcamps all the way - usually a different one each night. Unfortunately some friends recommended this 'location' so we booked the Basic Cabin for 3 nights.
Upon arrival at 3pm the cabin had not been cleaned and received a very quick vacuum. Floor was filthy, bunk frames and under bunks layered in dust, sheets on mattresses dirty.
KItchen was very basic, small and did not appear to have cleaned in a while - a shelf in the kitchen layered with fatty dust obviously not been cleaned in some time.
Ablusions smelly , floors disgusting and Tiles slippery - talked to someone who had been there 5 days and they did not think ablusions had been cleaned. During our 3 days we did not see Kitchen or ablusions being cleaned.
Laundry facility was basic but again could have done with a good sweep out and a general clean up.
Clothes lines are under the owners plum tree so got no sun and the ground was littered with rotting plums that you had no choice but to stand on when trying to hang up clothes.
A request to reception to clean up plums and laundry was met with patronising sneer from owner !

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duffah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We camped here for just short of 2 weeks on our annual holiday as we have done for some years now.
The location of the resort is very handy to Paihia and not too far to Kerikeri. It is positioned on the banks of the Waitangi river with incredible views towards the Haruru falls and is surrounded by steepish banks of bush from North thru East to the South which forms a small amphitheatre setting protecting it from most inclement weather.
The resort is wonderful for kids. An awesome pool with an adjacent play area which includes a trampoline, volley ball area and giant chess as well as a communal BBQ area for family get togethers. A small jetty protrudes into the river from which our kids have spent endless hours fishing. Kayaks are available for hire at a very reasonable rate. Parents can relax knowing that their kids are in a safe environment.
Although we mostly cooked for ourselves the restaurant is excellent having had a few great meals there during our stays. Great for when you are tired and just cant be bothered cooking. There is always something for everyone on the menu and the prices are very reasonable. Take out pizzas can also be ordered from reception.
The facilities for camping are more than adequate and typical of most other NZ camp grounds.
Some of the negative reviews on here relate to a period when the current owner's husband was terminally ill. This was a very stressful period for both her and the close knit staffing community. It is quite possible, and understandable, that there were some fractious moments at times. I am happy to say that the things are back much as they were before with a very motivated owner and obliging and helpful staff.
Wonderful family camping experiences like this are fast disappearing. The increasing number of regular campers returning year after year is testament to the fact that the formula is right. Roll on next years holidays!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowpatz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.0 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
2.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
2.6 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#10 of 43 in Paihia
396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haruru Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haruru Falls Resort

Address: Old Wharf Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: £60 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haruru Falls Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haruru Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel Paihia
Haruru Falls Resort Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing