We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Awesome week”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed in the Falls Motel for one week and we enjoyed every minute. Peter (The Owner) is a great guy who helped us booking the trips, restaurant and all the other things.
The rooms were clean and tidy with a service each morning.

Jennifer & Heiko(German)

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs! There you have your own balcony with a unique view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46JenniferR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    47
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
72
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in their waterfront campground over easter. It was a beautiful spot with clean facilities and the staff were really pleasant and helpful. Also had a playground for the kids and canoes for hire. I especially liked the 2nd hand books that were available at reception. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again with Pete, Cheryle, Todd and Melissa and their beautiful children.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huwanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

After a vehicle breakdown, peter was kind enough to book us in at the 12th hour. He was very accommodating and went above and beyond to help us after our horrible evening. Accommodation was clean and tidy and ample for four adults. Views were great over the falls and full free use of on sight BBQ and pool. Highly recommend. Thank you Peter.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blossomflower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for two nights , simply the best time had by us both !
The views here are second to none , and the new owners bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoyable and stress free as it could be.
A great layout looking out at the pool and over to the falls was way more than expected in this price range and we were sad to go home .
well done to the owners , totally recommend staying here , we will be back !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murray g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The friendliest host ever! He went out of his way to help us, even giving us extra wifi for free!
The rooms were comfortable but dated in decor. One of the bathroom lights didn't work, neither did one of the kitchen sockets. Luckily there were two in both!
So, a little bit run down but very clean. Once the upgrade has been done it will be a superb little motel. It was definitely value for money, so nothing to complain about!

Room Tip: Some rooms are dated in decor. Request info before booking. All have a great outlook!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benhan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafalgar, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Motel is on Wanganui River just out of Piahia. Excellent position. Our room was dated although the owner said that all rooms other than four (including ours) have been updated. We originally booked for two nights and ended up staying for four. Rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed at the Falls Motel. The owners were so warm and friendly and welcoming. Excellent value for money. Husband and wife team with their 2 lovely children whom we met while swimming in the pool. Great facilities and location, just out of Paihia and Waitangi. Wanted to stay longer but had to go home.
I will definitely stay again but not sure if the same owners will still be there as they were in the process of selling up. It is not often you get sincere and genuine people like this couple.

Room Tip: Most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.5 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
2.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.4 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#9 of 43 in Paihia
392 reviews
2.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
622 reviews
2.5 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#18 of 43 in Paihia
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Property: Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Address: 336 Puketona Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#11 Family Hotel in Paihia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of Haruru Falls and lagoon, 7 studio units sleep 2-3 and 6x2 bedroom apartments sleep up to 7, fully s/c units with 32" LCD TVs, full kitchens and separate bathrooms, balcony or poolside patio. Swimming pool and barbecue area. Waterfront powered camper van and tent sites, safe private beach, historic jetty and wharf with blue water access. WiFi, Kayak hire, full booking service. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing