We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels I ever stayed - great management!”
Review of Peppertree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppertree Lodge
Ranked #26 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Booked into this place due to its mention in the Lonely Planet guide. Although I'll still be travelling for a while and I usually do not like to draw conclusions upfront, I’m pretty confident in saying that this is and will be the nicest hostel I will ever be staying in.
Peppertree Lodge is perfectly located, the facilities are new and extremely tidy and it offers everything you might wish for: Great and spacious kitchen and social area, free tea and coffee all day, free DVD rental, laundry, big tv, internet terminals and zenbu wireless hotspot, nice garden area including barbecue place plus a very nice owner that assists you with all questions regarding your stay, tour bookings etc..
I stayed in a 4 bed dorm with ensuite bathroom. The bed is comfy, fresh and clean linen for free, the shower works well and a heater is provided in case it gets cold at night. The atmosphere at the hostel is really friendly and sociable but at the same time, it’s a no-noise-hostel after 10.30pm and thereby ensures that you’ll get a good nights sleep. In case you feel like partying, there are several bars just across the street.
This place really is your home away from home, I would totally stay here again and definitely recommend it if I you are going to Paihia / Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inn2TheWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

Very clean and well presented backpackers accommodation. Rooms average price for New Zealand. Living area was spacious with a really large and clean kitchen. There was also an upstairs area away from the tv for people to go and read and chill out. Free bikes and kayaks were an added bonus. The owners were very friendly and welcoming however very very strict when it came to cleaning and house rules. Whilst this is a good thing we felt rather uncomfortable a few times when we heard them talking to their staff and being really rude and demeaning to them infront of guests. I also accidentally entered the kitchen whilst it was undergoing its daily cleaning and was quite rudely told to leave by one of the owners. There are correct ways and means of talking to people in the hospitality business - this was our only problem with this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryMip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Stayed 3 nights in a triple en suite room just last week. Amazing place, large, well organised, peaceful and incredibly located 5 mins from beach nr a few cool bars and a pleasant wander from the main strip. Management friendly, clean bathrooms, fluffy towels and bed linen provided. Internet facilities, big kitchen for cooking, lounge area, bbq and outdoor space for early evening socialising. Highly recommended, best bacpackers hostel we stumbled across on our travels, and we have high standards! Book this one!

PS. if you fancy heading out on the seas can highly recommend yachting with Richard on Boat HonFleur. We booked this at the info point in centre of town after debating all the many available options and were not disappointed, lovely day out!

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
Thank boodles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

At first, I was kinda disappointed as we asked for double ensuite but we got bunk beds. however we slowly realized that the place is maintained properly and it is very clean. I can see that the management does clean up when it is necessary especially in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel250979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2006

We booked the self contained appartment for 3 nights. The accommodation was excellent, comfortable and clean and remarkable value for money at $85 per night for the two of us.
The building containing the double rooms and bunk rooms was in a seperate block, where they had a very good kitchen, tv lounge etc. Outside area covered with BBQ.
This is a backpackers for all ages (us 60!) it was quiet and the owners expected it to be kept that way with a notice advising such!
We did not make us of the free mountain bike or the kayaks!
Throroughly reccommend to young and old.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prenteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank claudia13bagheera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Centabay Lodge
Centabay Lodge
#27 of 31 in Paihia
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Lodge
Saltwater Lodge
#10 of 31 in Paihia
99 reviews
0 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#18 of 31 in Paihia
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
0.7 mi away
Cap'n Bob's Beach House
Cap'n Bob's Beach House
#11 of 31 in Paihia
72 reviews
0 mi away
The Mousetrap Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppertree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppertree Lodge

Address: 15 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: £24 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Peppertree Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a purpose built backpackers, with 8 bed dorms using shared facilities, 4 bed dorms with own bathroom , doubles/twins that can sleep up to 4 people using shared facilities, doubles / twins that can sleep up to 4 people with own bathroom. We have a full well equipped kitchen , 50' tv with approx. 300 dvds, bbq area to allow you to grill our food, we have a tour desk for local tours, free access to 3 tennis courts, kayaks and bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppertree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppertree Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing